Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Three Thanks

with 13 comments

This morning I woke up feeling just a little off.  I stood staring aimlessly out the window at the gray and gloomy landscape; the cold air crept around the window sill and wrapped around my neck making me shrug my shoulders in defense.  I felt downtrodden and thought briefly about going back to bed.  Just then, my cat lowered her head and leaned into my leg with a thud and uttered a raspy good morning meow.  I looked down at her, said “thanks” and then I smiled.

We walked together over to the computer together and as I am oft to do, started meandering around the web.  The first post I clicked through to was this one:  Better Mood from Gratitude: 2 Minute Execise – Start Now! The post has evidence showing that gratitude, expressed in simple form on a weekly basis,  increases your happiness.

Seriously?  I sat staring at the page, mindlessly scratching my cat behind her ears.  “I have to do this”, I thought.

Three Thanks is a place for us to simply jot down three things for which we are thankful every week.   Simple things are often the hardest to do, so I hope we can do this together.  We’ll have a post up every Monday morning to get it started, and sometime over the week you’ll reply in the comments with yours.

So .. let’s get started.   Admittedly, today I’m feeling a little “meta” about this, but the best part is there are no wrong answers. So here are mine:

  1. My healthy family  (including the cats, now both soundly asleep again)
  2. My dear friends  (who encourage and hold me up even when I have crazy ideas like this one)
  3. WordPress   (for making this so damn easy to do)

What are you thankful for?

Don’t overthink it .. we’ll be here every week.   Just jot down three thanks and we’ll look back in a year happier, trust me.

Written by Grace

December 11, 2008 at 4:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. *Grins and adds a reply.*

    1. Bright, positive, creative ideas by friends.
    2. Being proposed to (teasingly) on my white board at work.
    3. Watching designs begin to come together.

    Noe

    December 11, 2008 at 4:53 pm

  2. 1. Snowflakes in the air, and on my tongue
    2. A toddler’s perfect hug in the morning
    3. A ten year old who can ask questions I cannot answer

    zhaewry

    December 11, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  3. 1. The people in my life who understand me and love me in spite of my flaws
    2. Having a fairly secure job that challenges me as well as pays the mortgage
    3. Finding and exploring my creative voice through writing, SL and glass

    chestnut

    December 11, 2008 at 5:07 pm

  4. is happy to jump in and be thankful for:

    1. Family, family, family.
    2. The beauty in simple things.
    3. Belief in oneself.

    charlanna

    December 11, 2008 at 5:26 pm

  5. I am grateful daily for:

    1. The gift of love.
    2. The gift of life.
    3. The gift of another day.

    Michele Hyacinth

    December 11, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  6. Thankful for…..

    1. Friends
    2. The gorgeous blue, blue sky
    3. The things I’ve learned this past year

    Joone Jatho

    December 11, 2008 at 1:14 pm

  7. 1. my beloved family and friends
    2. my warm home
    3. finding my true passion in life thanks to SL

    Bevan

    December 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm

  8. 1. to love and be loved by my loved ones
    2. to enjoy the senses
    3. just to be here

    Hute

    December 11, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  9. 1. Family and friends
    2. Internet and the wonders it brings us
    3. Cats. All of them 🙂

    IYan Writer

    December 12, 2008 at 5:00 am

  10. 1. Family
    2. Books
    3. This very clever idea 🙂

    daleinnis

    December 12, 2008 at 12:32 pm

  11. 1) Greg.
    2) Hershey the cat.
    3) Lunch breaks.

    Strawberry Holiday

    December 12, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  12. 1. My incredibly fortunate life and all the people in it.
    2. My love for reading and the joy I find in books.
    3. The one we call Grace McDunnough.

    Sera Evans

    December 12, 2008 at 4:42 pm

  13. I like this so very much, I’m replying again.

    1. Family and friends.
    2. Smiles and laughter.
    3. Integrity and authenticity.

    Michele Hyacinth

    December 15, 2008 at 12:21 pm


Leave a Reply

