Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

January 6 Inspiration, Irritability and .. Ice Cream

with 12 comments

//www.flickr.com/photos/gadl/

CC image courtesy of flickr.com/photos/gadl/

A New Year has emerged.   The world is on fire – politically, financially, spiritually – and it demands that we pick up a new lens and view the world a little differently.

Find your lens, hold it close to your eye, breath out slowly and let the new light in.

Today, my heart is piled high with gratitude for these things.

  1. The inspiration to see beyond my fears and make new things.
  2. The calm winds of love and patience in the midst of my irritability storms.
  3. Everyone that opened the freezer, stared in wistfully, but still left the 1/2 pint of Haagen-Dazs coffee ice cream untouched … just for me.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

January 5, 2009 at 12:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1) Someone finally doing something they promised a long time ago.
    2) Peaceful sleep.
    3) The smell and feel of clean sheets on a freshly made bed.

    charlanna

    January 5, 2009 at 6:54 am

  2. 1. New beginnings, a chance to do better than I did before.
    2. Friends near and far and the feeling of family they bring me.
    3. Restorative breaks in my normal routine that allow me to appreciate my “normal” all the more.

    Sera Evans

    January 5, 2009 at 7:25 am

  3. 1. Family time
    2. New books
    3. Collaborative projects

    Chestnut Rau

    January 5, 2009 at 7:35 am

  4. 1. My Kids through all the crazy morning shenanigans made their bus to school.

    2. Having this day ahead of me.

    3. The ability to Love and be Loved.

    Shelby Rasmuson

    January 5, 2009 at 7:50 am

  5. 1. Love in my life.

    2. A window to look out.

    3. The hope of a new day.

    Joone Jatho

    January 5, 2009 at 9:25 am

  6. Despite slogging back to work, and kids I am seriously slogging, I am grateful for these things:

    1) New music to listen to in the car.

    2)Those who have more faith than me in my skills and are willing to take a chance on that.

    3) Having my hair actually fall right this morning after it had been blown dry.

    Noe

    January 5, 2009 at 10:07 am

  7. 1) As crappy as my dayjob is, at least it does not involve wearing a lunchador mask like those Mexican wrestlers wear. I could see myself wearing one for 15, maybe 20 minutes – but not a full 8 hours.

    2) The fact that I have all 10 of my fingers and I can count to 10. I’m not sure if I would worry more if I counted less than 10 or more than 10. Less than 10 means I’ve lost a finger, which would be bad. But more than ten means I’ve lost my mind, which would be a whole lot worse. (But a lot more likely)

    3) None of the bridges I regularly cross are troll bridges. Or, if they are troll bridges, they’re either off duty or asleep. I, for one, think that the Highway Department has downsized their troll payroll significantly, so trolls have to cover more than one bridge. I’m sure the Highway Department would outsource these jobs to India if they could, but I wouldn’t be as scared of a troll if I knew he was calling from a Bangalore call center than, say, yelling from under the bridge I was crossing at that moment.

    Crap Mariner

    January 5, 2009 at 10:12 am

  8. A) Ugly creatures and people… without them we would not feel as superior – “ugly people and animals stop reading this -ew”

    2) The feeling I get (SmileDAR) when people I love come within a certain proximity.

    Finally) Forks

    Keeme

    January 5, 2009 at 11:35 am

  9. Today I am thankful for:

    1. The fun of cooperation to achive things not to be done alone

    2. For my colleagues and all their help and inspiration

    3. The calmness to be here

    Hute

    January 5, 2009 at 11:38 am

  10. 1. Nine days off from news and worry

    2. Coming back to my Love after those nine days

    3. A site which makes me stop and remind myself how much I have to be thankful for.

    zhaewry

    January 5, 2009 at 11:43 am

  11. 1) I’m thankful for a government that ensures our safety at all times by monitoring our every online communication without cause or notice, because that would tip off the evildoers,

    2) I’m thankful for the attitude of unquestioning faith in our financial institutions to do the right thing that we’ve had for the past few years,

    3) I’m thankful that we bailed out an auto industry that has ignored safety, technological advances, the basic tenet of capitalism that if you make total shit, people might not buy it, and many other silly little business facts on their way to the poorhouse.

    radarmasukami

    January 5, 2009 at 11:47 am

  12. I’m thinking back and appreciating, with thanks –

    1) the fact that all of the sl friends I’ve met in rl are the same people in rl that I’ve come to know and love in sl

    2) Santa, who rested a while at my place after his big task was done 😉

    3) airplanes that make the meetings possible

    Bree Birke

    January 8, 2009 at 10:21 am


Leave a Reply

