Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

February 2 Football, Finches and Fine Wine

with 12 comments

cc image courtesy of flickr.com/photos/jdebne

cc image courtesy of flickr.com/photos/jdebne

Pittsburgh 27  Arizona 23

Super Bowl  XLIII.    A traditional American gathering outpaced only by Thanksgiving when it comes to food consumption.    I have to say, I love the game but I enjoy watching it from the comfort of my home more than at the stadium.  Maybe I’m not a die hard, but just maybe I’m clever that way.

Today, I am thankful for things that keep me smiling.

  1. The great American tradition of professional football, a resounding reminder that the new year is underway.
  2. For the purple finches that show up nearly every day and say hello.
  3. For a glass of fine wine – one for me and one for you.  Slainte.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

February 2, 2009 at 7:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On this shifted but lovely Monday morning I am thankful for:

    1) Late mornings where you get extra sleep and can enjoy the early hours.

    2) Fresh air slipping through a partly open window.

    3) The way light hits just one side of the trees as the sun rises causing playful shadows.

    Noe

    February 2, 2009 at 8:16 am

  2. It has been a week for household repairs here, after a small fire in the garage and a cascading breakdown of crucial appliances. So, I am grateful for the skill of those solving repair issues, the concern of neighbors and friends who opened their doors, and always, the reliable elation of my Labrador, every morning, as we find our routine despite the upheaval.

    Jennette Forager

    February 2, 2009 at 8:18 am

  3. New beginnings (new day, new week, new month).
    Rediscovering something that makes me happy.
    Strong black tea.

    Lynn

    February 2, 2009 at 9:19 am

  4. This week I am thankful for:

    1) Feeling a new spark of imagination.
    2) Shoulders to cry on.
    3) Hearing from old friends out of the blue.

    charlanna

    February 2, 2009 at 11:50 am

  5. As this week begins, sun dappled and cool, I am thankful for:

    1) Love so strong, it is a source of strength even when we are busy and only touch in moments between the chaos.

    2) Friends who are anchors for my soul, as our lives evolve. Deep quiet connections which underpin so much.

    3) The absence of 30 cubic feet of paper in my office

    zhaewry

    February 2, 2009 at 1:59 pm

  6. Today I’m thankful for:

    1. Just in time to catch my train so I didn’t have to stay and wait in the cold breeze

    2. The light of the moon and stars shining from a clear sky guiding my way home

    3. My nice and cosy apartment here

    Hute

    February 2, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  7. 1. Reconnecting with old friends
    2. Constructive feedback
    3. A love built on bedrock

    chestnut

    February 2, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  8. I am thankful for:

    the beautiful blue sky

    the opportunity to work on my character flaws

    being alive

    Joone Jatho

    February 2, 2009 at 5:47 pm

  9. Today I’m thankful for:

    1. The amazingly kind hearts of those around me who give to those who need in hard times.
    2. My safety as I’m reminded daily that others (domestically and not) would love this basic blessing.
    3. Employment, my job, le paycheck. Things are scary right now, so I’m constantly aware of how lucky I am to have the opportunity to earn my bread.

    Sera Evans

    February 2, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  10. Family, to share birthdays, sports we never follow except for one day each year, and…

    Food, spicy, sweet, green, red, and delicious in so many ways. Some cooked all day, some cooked not at all, all of it the perfect, tasty complement to…

    Foolish sports spectacle of the year. Never pay attention, but this one day the television is on to keep the family in touch with the foolery during the food!

    Carter Liveoak

    February 2, 2009 at 9:40 pm

  11. Today I’m thankful for:

    1) My amazing friends, especially the ones from whom I get little bits of asynchronous love online all day in the form of tweets and IMs and skypes and and and.
    2) My amazing new job that literally pays me to do things I want to do anyway like disability, education, and online community, and allows me to sacrifice “looking nondisabled” for efficiency at work.
    3) The fact that activists like Harvey Milk (I saw the movie this weekend) helped make my path in life much easier. And the fact that the movie showed a disabled gay person doing something neat and normal and empowering. I literally had braced myself for that little episode being one more use of the “poor inspirational cripple” and winced at the use of ableist language in one scene. I was so happy that I was wrong that it started off the tears that I cried through most of the end of the movie.

    Also, you might like Denise Paolucci’s (Dreamwidth co-founder) Pride Threads: http://synecdochic.livejournal.com/310518.html

    Muse Carmona

    February 3, 2009 at 9:03 pm

  12. Well, these are interesting thoughts. I think they are true. However, everything is
    relative and ambiguous to my mind.

    AlexSorent

    April 8, 2009 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

