Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

February 9 Art, Affection, Ardor

with 9 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/tonx

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/tonx

Nearly every morning, I stop at a cafe on the way to work and pick up my first bit of  “art” for the day.

Despite the routine, I am captivated by the artful precision of the barista and anxious to see the end result pushed across the counter to me.  What will it be today?  a heart?  a flower? a fleur de leis?

Start your day with a small sip of art, you will be pleasantly surprised at the impact it makes.

Today, I am thankful for things that keep me smiling.

  1. The art of the barista that meets my mornings and transforms my days into adventure.
  2. For quiet affection, unspoken yet powerfully present.
  3. Unwavering ardor.  Days, weeks, months …  a year.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

February 9, 2009 at 7:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This week I’m grateful that:

    1) my amazing friends took me out for dinner for my birthday and made this ugly duckling feel loved.
    2) i realized by virtue of explaining social conditions in the US and my religion to my French roommate that my religious beliefs, instead of being instruments of self-hatred, can be used to feed my social justice work.
    3) I am the luckiest girl in the world because I get paid to work for social justice.

    Muse Carmona

    February 9, 2009 at 7:44 am

  2. Today I am grateful for:

    1) Love, pure and simple and lasting.
    2) Our IMPACT instructor who, last week, told us he is keeping our case to see it through to completion, and who also last week gave a nod to not only the mommies and daddies in class but also to the daddies and daddies in class. I think my heart swelled to twice its normal size, I am a grinch no more.
    3) The undeniable gift of no extra “presents” left from my pups this morning. I know this one is a little, well, grace-less, but still very much appreciated after the last weekend.

    Sera Evans

    February 9, 2009 at 7:45 am

  3. Last night I turned and tossed, there was too much on my mind to get a real night’s sleep. However, this space reminds me to be awake and grateful for these things:

    1) The chance to work on projects that have my heart and imagination fused into them.
    2) Those who love me and know me so well they can help me see my vision (for a project or an idea) and make it concrete. It is such a blessing when a person truly wants to know who you are.
    3) The ability to often think on my feet which will get me through work even if I didn’t have a solid plan in place.

    Noe

    February 9, 2009 at 8:51 am

  4. I am grateful for:

    1. Emotional well-being. Knowing everything is going to be ok.

    2. Dreams and desires. Being excited about the future for the first time in a while.

    3. Creativity, colors, light, imagination. The beauty in the world and being able to see it.

    Joone Jatho

    February 9, 2009 at 9:11 am

  5. After a week where burning the candle at both ends was insufficient, comes the crash, viral and exhausted, and yet, through all of it so much to be thankful for.

    1) A Project completed, and completed well. The wonder of a team of over 30 people in 14 time zones who came together and delivered in two weeks, only a few of whom have every met face to face.

    2) A lover who, in the midst of chaos, offers out a gentle hand to steady me in the storm, and hold me secure as the waves crash.

    3) The moments of clarity, when I can see people, as they are, not as I might want them to be, and love them, as they are, human, unique, and wondrous.

    zhaewry

    February 9, 2009 at 10:50 am

  6. A Beautiful — in and out — partner through the years and through all the joy and crud.

    A Benefit from paying attention and scanning the horizon — people coming out of the woodwork to help.

    A Boot (in the butt) that comes out of affection and gets me to do what I really want to do.

    Carter Liveoak

    February 9, 2009 at 12:33 pm

  7. This week, I am thankful for:

    1) Warm days and melting snow.
    2) Laughter. Yours, mine, theirs. All of it, everywhere.
    3) Trust. That moment when someone you don’t know well shows their trust in you.

    charlanna

    February 9, 2009 at 4:14 pm

  8. What I’m thankful for:

    1. Long sleep at monday morning and still being able to catch up with all my work

    2. The bus-driver who did hold back his bus so I could get on although I was late and had to run

    3. Handmade chocolate from Peter Beier

    Hute

    February 9, 2009 at 5:44 pm

  9. 1) This video and the thinking it inspired http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

    2) My love who fits around me like a comfortable blanket

    3) Appreciating my own achievements a little bit

    chestnut

    February 11, 2009 at 9:25 am


Leave a Reply

