Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

February 16 Daffodils, Detours, a Day Off

with 7 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/ennor

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/ennor

The February daffodils have arrived with a flourish and soon the rest of nature’s spring secrets, now safely tucked beneath the frozen crust, will find their place.

They appear quite boldly, lifting their blond heads out of the barren soil and standing tall in the grove of pine, pecan and dogwoods.  These gentle soldiers remind us that even in the cold traps of despair, one can find peace – and hope.

Take a moment, and find your daffodil.

Today, I am thankful for things that keep me hopeful and happy.

  1. The strength and beauty of the daffodils in my otherwise dreary front yard.
  2. For the detour I had to take home, frustrating at first, then filled with joyous surprises.
  3. And for a day off which I intend to waste wholly and selfishly on myself.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

February 16, 2009 at 8:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are no actual daffodils in my small yard today but there are still moments in my life to be thankful for.

    1) The near completion of a project that gives me that giddy ‘almost done’ feeling along with the hint of excitement at unveiling it.

    2) Music in my car; piles of CDs collected to pick from so that any mood I have is suited. This is the soundtrack to my life.

    3) Anticipation; that bubbling knowledge that something I want might occur.

    Noe

    February 16, 2009 at 9:07 am

  2. 1) Modern medicine, with powerful antibiotics, cough syrups and the tools to prevent a bad cold from becoming much worse

    2) Patient love when I am faded, bleary and in a drug induced haze

    3) A new build which bends my mind and shakes my earphones as it stretches the bounds of immersive art.

    zhaewry

    February 16, 2009 at 10:19 am

  3. 1) Long family walks to the park on a blustery late winter day

    2) Work that feeds me intellectually and quite literally

    3) Modern medicine, with powerful antibiotics, cough syrups and the tools to prevent a bad cold from becoming much worse. 😉

    chestnut

    February 16, 2009 at 11:32 am

  4. 1 Ice skating at the wonderful surroundings at The New Kings Square

    2 I didn’t have any headache today

    3 Monday – in all it’s beauty

    Hute

    February 16, 2009 at 1:31 pm

  5. 1. The brightness of the sun

    2. Love

    3. Hope of a better day

    Joonie

    February 16, 2009 at 5:42 pm

  6. 1) Long, beautiful spring weekends.

    2) Friends and family. I’m like a broken record here, but I really am blessed.

    3) The ability and opportunity to help others.

    Sera Evans

    February 16, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  7. This week I was struggling with thanks, because I was getting sick and did not have the day off and was sore about Valentines Day, which is hard on single people. I’ve had a difficult week so far which is why writing this is even MORE important than usual.

    1) for my wonderful friends, especially those soon to become coworkers on a new freelance gig, who I have as supports to get through the day on skype (I know I sound like a broken record about my friends, I don’t care).
    2) for the giant teddy bear I bought at Walgreens (Atlanta locals, if you’re interested, it was the one on North Avenue) on 50% off post-valentines day sale that is serving as body pillow and purveyor of unconditional love and CUTENESS.
    3) for my new found abilities to whip up tasty, whole, balanced meals, with 110% less burning! practice DOES help.

    Muse Carmona

    February 18, 2009 at 1:08 pm


Leave a Reply

