Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

February 23 Opportunity, Optimism, Oceans

with 6 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/jdubfudge

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/jdubfudge

February has offered waves of opportunities for me.  Some I have caught, others have made their way to the beach untouched.    I struggle to stay optimistic, but fortunately I am surrounded by an ocean of people who lift me up even after I’m trapped by the pounding surf.

Find your wave, and ride it boldly to the shore.

Today, I am thankful for things that keep my head above water:

  1. All that is afforded me as opportunity with the hope that I stay alert and engaged to live it fully.
  2. For the optimism and encouragement of those that love me and who often have more faith in me than I do in myself.
  3. For the calm of the ocean that comes even after the rage of a storm, with gentle hands and reassuring whispers.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

February 23, 2009 at 8:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This morning I actually rolled from bed with a laugh as the local radio station played a clip from one of my favorite stand-up moments. In light of that laughter I am thankful for these things:

    1) Stand-up comedy moments that actually make me laugh out loud even in the early hours of a Monday.

    2) That soft snow that falls and doesn’t stick but creates a star field as you drive.

    3) My new pillow, purchased just this past weekend, that is full of fresh fluff and not flattened at all.

    Noe

    February 23, 2009 at 8:35 am

  2. I’ve pondered this one a bit.

    1) The cinnamon kitty – A salt shaker shaped like an orange cat in a chef’s hat that I use for cinnamon in the rare times I drink coffee. “He who controls the spice controls the universe, Cinnamon Kitty” is the mantra. I should probably fill it with bacon salt, considering how much more I use that stuff than cinnamon, but there’s something special about a cinnamon kitty. I think I should have a whole row of condiment kitties, but I’m not sure I could keep them straight.

    2. Spam – After 1,400 stories, I’m running out of inspiration. My muse, if she hasn’t hopped a bus to Lubbock already, is probably calling Greyhound for prices and schedules. But Spam is an excellent source of random prompts, bizarre woe-is-me tragic tales, and goofy maladies to riff on. What are they going to do – sue me for stealing their ideas? And the best part is that I can wean myself off of other frustrating and annoying sources like random conversations, Twitterjacking, news, and getting completely stoned on absinthe. (Nor does it require Muse-kidnapping scenarios that might enforce the Lubbock Police Department.)

    3. Hot-swappable mice – My desk is not my own, it’s shared between shifts. I have my own Microsoft optical mouse, and the side buttons are programmed for window-switching. I like it better than the pathetic Dynex mouse the guy on the night shift uses, so I unplug his, set it aside, and run my own. At the end of the shift, I swap his back on. (We both use my kitten-in-a-tree mousepad, though.) This would have required a reboot in the good old Windows 95 days, but now – the hardware and XP are smart enough to realize that some folks like different mice.

    I use a mouse at work, a trackpad on the laptop, and a trackball on the desktop. I’m surprised that my right hand hasn’t completely malfunctioned by now.

    -ls/cm

    Crap Mariner

    February 23, 2009 at 9:18 am

  3. 1) The crisp cool breeze blowing through town, which will be gone quickly enough for us to miss it even before we feel the hot breath of summer.
    2) Good friends who love me, flawed as I am.
    3) Technology, the bits, the crackling information flow of our time.
    4) (bonus) Forgiveness for a hastily typed three thanks?

    Sera Evans

    February 23, 2009 at 10:34 am

  4. The last days of a short month are rushing by, and hints of the next season abound. I am thankful for:

    1) Unexpected,but delightful insights in unexpected places, which help illuminate the road before me.

    2) Moments of quite shared delight, found, made, and stolen from crazy days.

    3) The shiny new cable modem, which replaced my ancient, decade old one, and restored the flow of bits into my life.

    zhaewry

    February 23, 2009 at 1:04 pm

  5. 1) That my poor swollen hand is getting better thanks to the miracles of modern medicine.
    2) For my colleagues at my virtually located job, who humble and awe me with their amazing understanding of Second Life as a platform. It’s often my job to explain and defend what they know intuitively in terms of scholarly research. Wow, it practically writes itself. Especially after that awful Valleywag article, we need more understanding of SL like this.
    3) My giant teddy bear who loves me unconditionally (did I list that last week?)

    Muse Carmona

    February 23, 2009 at 2:48 pm

  6. This monday I am thankful for

    1 The possibility and the freedom for you to say ‘no’ and stand on a ‘no’

    2 Constant changes in weather from clear skies to grey clouds and back again

    3 When fresh air and new life breezes into my apartment from my open windows

    Hute

    February 23, 2009 at 4:23 pm


Leave a Reply

