Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

March 2 Bookstores, Bits and Bravery

with 12 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/lanier67

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/lanier67

I have a thing for book stores.  The smell, the lighting, the mood, and the quiet whispers carefully reflecting from pages and sneaking around corners to find their rightful owners …

This is where I go to collect my thoughts, to recapture my muse, to feel whole again.   In the digital Renaissance, book stores march along boldly .. into the valley of death?   I do hope not.

Today, I am thankful for these things that keep me grounded:

  1. Bookstores – lovingly maintained and housing the richness of spirit that deserves a place to rest.
  2. Digital bits that course through networks and bring me face to face with a Holocaust survivor, allow me to hear her story first hand and let it shake me to my core.
  3. The bravery of people who have been persecuted but stand up to face of their fears to speak out against what is incomprehensibly and unconscionably human behavior.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

March 2, 2009 at 9:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There is at least 6 inches of snow on my deck and it is beautiful today. In light of this late winter delight I am thankful for:

    1) Getting the chance to listen, to stories, to people, to memories that are handed out like gifts.

    2) Watching snow fall and silence the world with large, fluffy flakes. For a moment the small section of my world is blanketed in wonder.

    3) The joy of a day off, originally unexpected, to do with as I see fit.

    Noe

    March 2, 2009 at 9:35 am

  2. 1) Bert – I look back to my childhood and realize that it was Bert’s banal outlook on life that we should all aspire to, not Ernie’s wild selfish abandon.

    2) Big mugs – I have a gigantic glass Cheers stein that I use for diet Coke or iced tea in the morning. I fill it with ice and it waters down the iced tea over the morning, smoothing out the mellowness. (I bring in fresh lemons and limes for sweeteners because, well, there’s nothing quite like stabbing into a lime and laughing.)

    3) Baconsalt – There is no greater source of granular awesomeness than baconsalt. I dare you to find something that it doesn’t make better (I am chewing it with plain chewing gum right now)

    Crap Mariner

    March 2, 2009 at 10:42 am

  3. Ok. I’ve wanted to post *something* here for a while, but I’m sort of a goof about stuff like this. Mostly because the few things that I truly feel thankful for are often something deep and meaningful to me and I’m not really good at not being horribly superficial to the outside world. But today I’ve got something that’s both silly and yet has made me really happy these past few days, so here goes.

    What am I thankful for today? Amazing lyrics that really move me and never fail to make me smile.

    (1) “Temptation Waits”, Garbage

    You come on like a drug
    I just can’t get enough
    I’m like an addict coming at you for a little more
    And there’s so much at stake
    I can’t afford to waste
    I never needed anybody like this before

    (2) “Destiny”, Zero 7

    When I’m weak, I draw strength from you
    And when you’re lost, I know how to change your mood
    And when I’m down, you breathe life over me
    Even though we’re miles apart, we are each other’s destiny

    (3) “Make a Wish”, Conjure One

    I took off my shoes
    I took off my face
    And then I undid the buttons on my dress

    Make a wish

    Tell me have you ever been exposed like this

    Baby, baby, baby, feels like a kiss

    I bet you never thought that you could feel like this

    Chase

    March 2, 2009 at 11:10 am

  4. ahhh….bookstores. I miss Tattered Cover in Denver.

    1. Not being fully awake even tho I’m at my desk. It’s a tranquil, dozy feeling and makes me feel happy.

    2. Letting the music from my iPod put me in a good mood. I’ve been in a good place lately and music has a lot to do with that. Yay music!

    3. Not feeling alone in the world. Been there and I’m grateful knowing I’m really not, even when I feel like I am. Friends…make everything better.

    Happy week everyone!

    Joone Jatho

    March 2, 2009 at 11:45 am

  5. 1. Coffee loves me and I sip slowly.
    2. Music with friends.
    3. Hiding in an enclosed cloudy sky feels good.

    Radio

    March 2, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  6. mmmmmmmmmmm –

    1) Anticipation – often better than the event, but not always; however, now that I’m grown up enough to know this, might as well take full advantage and draw it out

    2) Somewhat contrarily (is that a word?), the fact that this Monday is screaming by at supersonic speeds

    3) This tiny gap in my day that lets me stop to think about it here 🙂

    Bree Birke

    March 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm

  7. 1) I was reminded today of how unstable the economy is so I will say again how grateful I am for stable employment and a job I enjoy a great deal

    2) Understanding, patient and forgiving bosses

    3) Reliable internet service and a cable guy who finally got it right

    Chestnut Rau

    March 2, 2009 at 8:27 pm

  8. Snow blankets the big city, stilling traffic, filling the apartment with kids wanting hot chocolate and dry mittens. On this snow filled day, I am thankful for:

    1) All the moods of the Big Apple, From shrouded in white, soft and muted to crisp and sharp edged and buzzing with energy.

    2) Pretty sims to explore in second life, and a pretty partner with whom to explore them.

    3) The sheer delight of suddenly understanding someone else’s perspective, and being able to fit it into the complex landscape of challenging problem.

    zhaewry

    March 2, 2009 at 10:23 pm

  9. 1) The gorgeous wet snow from Sunday. And that it is (largely) melted already.
    2) The generous hearts of those around me who give of their time and themselves so willingly and unselfishly, and who can have such fun while doing so.
    3) Laughter, which I am blessed with/by nearly every day.

    Sera Evans

    March 3, 2009 at 1:13 pm

  10. Late to the party this week, and this seems to be a week of even thoughs, but still grateful.

    1) grateful I am no longer sick with anything ongoing, even though i have a migraine today, it shall pass.
    2) grateful for the wisdom of my old best friend and my wonderful new friends, even though my best friend and I have been fighting, and knowing that that shall pass.
    3) grateful to have a thesis proposal, even though it’s terrible that other researchers have gone before me and been horrible to the group i work with so i can’t use the research methods i might have used if trust had not been destroyed, and knowing that even though that won’t pass, i still have a way to make a difference, which is what i really care about.

    Muse Carmona

    March 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm

  11. 1. The smarts of my friends.
    2. The humor of my friends.
    3. The company of my friends.

    I also love bookstores, but generally only used ones. The ones that smell like books. Not the new ones that smell like coffee and muffins…or so I’ve heard.

    Salome

    March 5, 2009 at 8:10 am

  12. I have wanted to post here for a while, but I was having trouble finding a way to get in touch with my gratitude. Finally, though…

    1) Second chances. Although the clock can never be turned back, now and then, we get a rare chance at a “do over.” Whether you did things right or wrong the first time, there’s always a way to do them better. And I’m trying to do just that, every day.

    2) Teamwork. Two people, pulling together, can carry more weight than two can, individually. At work or at play, teamwork makes the heaviest loads lighter.

    3) Purpose. Having a point on the horizon to give me somewhere to head as I raise the sails and put my hand on the tiller in the morning helps me work free of the cobwebs and be productive and happy.

    Feline Slade

    March 5, 2009 at 8:30 am


Leave a Reply

