Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

April 6 Lilacs and Laughter

with 10 comments

April is the cruelest month, breeding
Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing
Memory and desire, stirring
Dull roots with spring rain.

(T. S. Eliot, from The Waste Land)

April has finally made it to the party.  She waltzes in, pale pink party dress swishing around bare legs and feet with a smile so bright it floods the room and a laughter that reaches in and tugs at your heart until you join her.   Deceptively beautiful and secretly unsure of herself, she fills the dance hall with fragrance and light. Maybe Eliot was too hard on her?

Today, I am thankful for the things that make me smile:

  1. My cat’s unwavering yet endearing persistence.
  2. The brush of breeze from the edge of a hawk’s wings against my cheek.
  3. The quiet laugh that made me smile just before falling asleep.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

April 6, 2009 at 7:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Or perhaps T.S. Eliot knew how fickle April’s heart truly is; it is supposed to snow where I live tomorrow.

    Today I am thankful for:

    1) The rays of sun sneaking through to give this solar powered soul a boost.
    2) Good food, laughter and conversation out with friends.
    3) The little bird who posed for my camera with his iridescent feathers.

    Noe

    April 6, 2009 at 8:36 am

  2. Thanks for introducing me to this idea, Grace.

    I’m thankful for contact with people like you who live far away but make me smile every day.
    I’m thankful my son’s first child is safe and snug in utero, plumping up to join the family in August.
    I’m thankful for the furry animals who love me without making judgments or requirement.

    Susan Reynolds

    April 6, 2009 at 8:40 am

  3. Today I am thankful for:

    1) The magic of my children. They turned three yesterday and it was a day filled with the joys of childhood, innocence and laughter (and a very healthy dose of challenges, too!).

    2) The privilege and flexibility that being a “thought worker” affords me.

    3) How some days my bed feels so exceptionally comfortable and cozy.

    charlanna

    April 6, 2009 at 8:54 am

  4. Today I am thankful for:

    1) 19 years with the best cat ever, even though they had to end last week;

    2) 25 years (or 33, if you count our friendship before) with the best husband ever, and that they did not end when they easily could have;

    3) 46 years with the best parents ever, and thank goodness they survived my childhood.

    Sachiko Edelman

    April 6, 2009 at 9:57 am

  5. Saturday, we spent the afternoon at http://www.nsalamerica.org/ and returned with a 8 month old kitten, who improbably was named Gracie… So this soggy, rain spangled Monday I am thankful for

    1) People and places, who warm the world, with the light of their example, in ways small, large, and in between.

    2) Love which soothes, and lets me soothe, when the moments are sometimes spooky and scary

    3) The playful pounce of a kitten, the perk of the ears, and the insistent meow which says “Play with me” and makes me feel 20 years younger.

    zhaewry

    April 6, 2009 at 10:14 am

  6. 1) health insurance

    2) caring doctors

    3) a partner who keeps me sane in the moments when I feel out of control

    chestnut

    April 6, 2009 at 2:56 pm

  7. 1) a loved is slowly inching towards her health goals. I can see her glowing with the results 🙂
    2) Completely crazy and exhausting weekend, with just 3 hrs of sleep, with every waking minute so totally worth it.
    3) A feeling of deep calm & content that seem to be getting better at everytime I stop and look inside

    AR

    April 6, 2009 at 5:09 pm

  8. 1) Having a life that feels self-actualized for the first time in a very long time thanks to all the amazing activities I’ve thrown myself into. I love it!
    2) People who have faith in me when I begin to doubt myself (not an infrequent thing 🙂 and the art and magic that my friends bring to my life.
    3) My furry kids, even when they tear up pillows and leave the remnants everywhere.

    Sera Evans

    April 6, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  9. Thank you Grace

    1) Friends that share my ups and downs, who trust me enough to share their own in return.

    2) Memories of how the smell of lilacs filled my grandmother’s home when I was a child.

    3) How good it felt to hear my daughter say, “I don’t tell you enough… I love you, for realz” before she went to bed last night.

    tara

    April 7, 2009 at 7:20 am

  10. I’m a bit late but no less thankful for:

    1. hope

    2. love

    3. friends

    Joone Jatho

    April 9, 2009 at 8:35 am


Leave a Reply

