Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

April 20 Spring Mist

with 9 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/coba

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/coba

Spring storms marched across the landscape this week, toppling ancient trees and disrupting basic services for days.   If you wait patiently you can see a healing mist filling the empty spaces, promising a safer passage.

Today I am thankful for things that keep me safe:

  1. I am thankful that this time we were spared the sound of timber crashing into the house, but my heart goes out to those who are rebuilding and recovering.
  2. Despite the destruction, I am thankful for the strong rain as it washes the pollen from the air and makes allergies more tolerable.
  3. For those that stand by me and quietly look after me out of love and not obligation, I am truly thankful.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

April 20, 2009 at 6:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1) The daily fresh start, the reset, the capability to go forth and do what you might have only wished you’d done yesterday.
    2) Beautiful spring mornings where the clean air feels like a balm and soothes worries about what the day may bring.
    3) The continued health of my oldest puppy whose sight and hearing may be going, but who still brightens my day whenever I see him (and likewise, I’d like to think).

    Sera Evans

    April 20, 2009 at 7:52 am

  2. I am back at work after a short vacation; the day is damp and a deep gray. In light of these facts I am still thankful for:

    1) A job that, despite my unwillingness to get up this morning, entertains me and keeps me engaged.
    2) Quiet moments with friends where the conversation is languid but very real and hurt can slowly be repaired with love.
    3) Sharing my home and my life with someone willing to hunt down and kill the bugs once I have spotted them. (Scutigera coleoptrata are SO fired from my house.)

    Noe

    April 20, 2009 at 7:57 am

  3. Today I am thankful for…

    1) Waking to the smell of freshly baked bread.
    2) The technology that mixes the ingredients, kneads the dough, bakes the bread, and knows when I am getting up so has it all ready just in time… Amazing!
    3) Sunshine that begins healing after a storm, both literally and metaphorically.

    Sachiko Edelman

    April 20, 2009 at 8:17 am

  4. 1) Showers (and other modern conveniences).
    2) Clean water.
    3) The juxtaposition of words & silence

    Lyncean

    April 20, 2009 at 8:57 am

  5. 1) Thankful for a warm soft bed.
    2) Talks that last all night, that test the best and worst of who we are.
    3) A quiet mind.

    tara

    April 20, 2009 at 11:14 am

  6. 1) daffodils smiling from the garden
    2) my son’s ability to rebound and laugh so soon after disappointment, frustration boo-boos.
    3) my daughter’s ability to cut through the nonsense and see the essence of a situation.

    Jennifer

    April 20, 2009 at 12:59 pm

  7. 75, and summer sunshine on Saturday, 40F and misty cold rain now. As spring, in its moody, constantly changing moods washes over NY, I am thankful for:

    1) Changes which make me grow, shake me up, and keep the world alive with energy and wonder.

    2) Safe harbor where my soul can anchor amidst the change and wonder

    3) Sleep which knits my love’s body and soul.

    zhaewry

    April 20, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  8. 1) Fading fear and the healing of my physical self

    2) Mini vacations

    3) The relationships that are the foundation of my happiness

    chestnut

    April 20, 2009 at 4:01 pm

  9. 1) All the opportunities I keep getting to go back to nature and experience its raw beauty & power. Its soul filling.
    2) For technology, that helps me connect with my loved ones across oceans in matter of seconds
    3) Ability to spend time with my nearest and dearest, without work & all the other “practical” drama overtaking the reins of my life

    AR

    April 21, 2009 at 10:24 am


Leave a Reply

