Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

May 4 Simple Pleasures

with 10 comments

image courtesy gracemcdunnough

image courtesy gracemcdunnough

I spotted this shot in my front yard last week while retrieving the mail.   It was a welcome distraction from the shuffle of bills, magazines and various other unsolicited bits.  I think sometimes we miss the simple pleasures nature affords us, blinded by the rush of our lives, but I’m glad I didn’t miss this one.

Today, I’m thankful for simple pleasures

  1. A sound sleep in fresh clean sheets
  2. A good strong cup of coffee
  3. The impressive diligence of mother blue jay – still tending a nest that seems far too small for one of her stature.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

May 4, 2009 at 5:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s an extra early morning for me to try and get more work done and today I am thankful for:

    1) Forgiveness
    2) The sound of the pouring rain in the middle of the night.
    3) New determination in myself and those around me.

    Noe

    May 4, 2009 at 6:06 am

    • 1) Health Insurance
      2) Watching marathons of a great show with my daughter
      3) The ability to recall and mourn, even when its painful.

      tara

      May 4, 2009 at 6:09 am

  2. I am thankful this morning for:

    1) The stuff the burglar left behind
    2) My uneven, beat up, old wooden floors
    3) The expectant pacing from one side of the bed to the other of my sweet dog when it’s about time for her morning meal

    Troy

    May 4, 2009 at 6:34 am

  3. Erk. I’m never good at these. But I’ll try, in all seriousness:

    1) Friends who listen to what I have to say, even when it’s inane or cynical
    2) Finding myself lucky enough to be able to donate more to charity each year
    3) Kilts 🙂

    Sean

    May 4, 2009 at 6:40 am

  4. 1) Given that friends were impacted negatively last week, I am sincerely thankful for my continued employment.
    2) The kind hearts and giving souls that surround me and help me work on projects that are near and dear to me.
    3) The five furry “kids” my house currently holds, and the exciting/terrifying potential for non-furry kids in our immediate future.

    Sera Evans

    May 4, 2009 at 6:41 am

  5. Thinking of my grandmothers, I’m thankful for scientific advancements that have made my life so much more comfortable than theirs were, including:

    1) Electricity.
    2) Progressive lenses.
    3) Synthetic hormones.

    Lyncean

    May 4, 2009 at 8:28 am

  6. 1) Inspiration and motivation when it comes. I just wish it would wander by more often.
    2) Someone who loves me and rubs my tummy when I need it.
    3) Caller ID.

    Chase

    May 4, 2009 at 8:37 am

  7. 1. the redbreasts that showed up in my garden today, as usual after a big cleaning up there… so pretty, they even come sit next to you, they never heard of a word called fear
    2. the challenge of being born black in a white world long time ago: the best schooling I ever could get
    3. the accountant coming by tomorrow to do my taxes: saves me lots of time and frustration

    Maddy

    May 4, 2009 at 4:08 pm

  8. 1) for getting so much love from all my loved ones, they like me and love just as I am with all my quirks and corners
    2) For the awesome weather past 2 days, I have been able to get better at my run just because the weather peps me up
    3)a extremely well rounded weekend -party,green-work,rest,reading,and then some…

    AR

    May 4, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  9. I’m late this week, amid cool rainy gray, busy days and much spring pollen. But, I am thankful for:

    1) Big umbrellas, comfortable boots, and a cozy jacket when spring turns cool and wet

    2) Sharing a new parcel to play with and make lovely and fun, far away from the wet streets of the real world.

    3) A community of friends who surprise me by sudden acts of kind and unexpected creativity

    zhaewry

    May 5, 2009 at 5:11 pm


Leave a Reply

