Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

May 18 Signs of Life

with 9 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/keepdahfunkalive

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/keepdahfunkalive

There is new life in the backyard.  Two pale and very wrinkled bodies are tucked safely in a nest built against the back wall of the house. We stand for what feels like hours, peering out the window in hopes to catch a glimpse of the family in action. We are quiet, whispering, smiling.  Occassionally they lift their heads, big eyes closed, and mouths wide open in anticipation, and we gasp in delight.

Today I am thankful for the little signs of life:

  1. The Blue Jay family that has adopted us.
  2. The epic struggle of the Hostas to bust out of the crusted soil, unfurl and shine its bright green light.
  3. The first peek of white on the stalk of the Yucca.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

May 18, 2009 at 6:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. For my time in real life with SL friends on Saturday, it was so good to laugh and be silly.

    2. For the vacation I am about to take, Iplan hug my best friend and her kids that I havent seen in 5 year for the duration of the trip..might make sightseeing difficult:)

    3. For learning from my mistakes.

    tara

    May 18, 2009 at 7:11 am

  2. 1) Wonderful friends who embrace all my news as though it were their own, because we are so close that it actually is
    2) Safe travels
    3) Coffee!

    Sera Evans

    May 18, 2009 at 7:53 am

  3. 1) Old songs, to which I know every word, that play across my radio and cheer my Monday morning.
    2) The ability to be patient and not rebuild my internal fortress walls when I normally would have.
    3) Orange flower: a scent which soothes me in my body wash and in my perfume.

    Noe

    May 18, 2009 at 8:01 am

  4. This morning, I am thankful for:

    1) A glorious Spring morning with brilliant blue skies and cool, crisp air.
    2) Being able to count the days left of a difficult working relationship.
    3) Actually feeling ready for the week ahead.

    charlanna

    May 18, 2009 at 8:32 am

  5. On a cool, cloud and sun dappled morning, I am thankf ul for:

    1) A year of shared discovery and joy. A very good start.

    2) Living in a city full of cultural influences from every corner of the globe, glowing with energy and complexity

    3) New friends who stun with acts of sudden generosity

    zhaewry

    May 18, 2009 at 10:12 am

  6. The more I thank, I more I find there is to thank 🙂
    This week I am thankful
    1) to see my sister back after 3 weeks and be able to hug her & see her & talk to her & be silly with her & spend some time with her…..
    2) For the awesome mini vacation with a few close friends. Some relationships can only go one way, to all good 🙂
    3) For my heart expanding more every time I make more space for people – my family\friends,my treasure and my life’s acheivements.

    AR

    May 18, 2009 at 11:58 am

  7. 1) One year building a solid foundation for the future

    2) The water in my pool, which is open and warming up in anticipation of a summer of joyful play

    3) My daughter’s pride in her math test scores. It feels great to go from failing to a 96%. Go Sophie!

    chestnutrau

    May 18, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  8. 1) Having a relaxing breakfast at an outdoor cafe
    2) Running into a casual friend whom I hadn’t seen in four months
    3) Finding this blog!

    Andrea Meyer

    May 24, 2009 at 7:39 pm

  9. 1) the privilege and joy of Musimmersion II

    2) seeing with my own eyes that an old man can be very sexy, and hearing with my own ears that he can be very powerful

    3) voices that are rich and deep

    Bree Birke

    May 27, 2009 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

