Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

May 25 Recall

with 8 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/polvero

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/polvero

I’m driving down the road and a song comes on the radio, and instantly I’m transported back to a time and place, to a feeling, a precious moment carved out of life that somehow got lost in the milieu of my mind’s attic.  Recall.

Now imagine all the moments lost across our nation’s history, of those that left on a journey to places they’d never been, of those that returned with moments they hoped to never recall, and some they will never forget.

Take a moment today and recall.

Today I am thankful for

  1. .. long walks in the forest with my grandfather as he explained every living thing.
  2. .. the precious moment I met my forever love, gentle smiling eyes and easy laugh.
  3. .. the day I picked up my guitar after so many years, and it sang to me.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

May 25, 2009 at 9:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today I am thankful for
    1. … the men and women who live to serve their country.
    2. … the men and women who have died to defend their country.
    3. … the freedoms I am allowed because of their service.

    I only wish I could find the words to say more.

    Sachiko Edelman

    May 25, 2009 at 9:23 am

  2. Looking back I have to do a little digging in order to pull forth the things I am grateful for today.

    1) The porch swing on my grandparent’s house where you could see the valley stretch out before you; it held me as a kid and again as a teenager when I lived there.
    2) My father who read to me, often, stories of Tolkein and of fairy which instilled a world of wonder in me.
    3) How quickly I was taken in and loved by a group of people I may not talk to today, but who still have good hearts and kind smiles.

    Noe

    May 25, 2009 at 9:44 am

  3. 1) My parents who would have celebrated a wedding anniversary today

    2) The day I went to volunteer with a friend on a sailing ship being built on the Hudson River. That decision led to a lifetime of happiness

    3) A brilliant and kind doctor at the Medical College of Virginia who’s treatment plan gave me the gift of my children

    chestnutrau

    May 25, 2009 at 11:33 am

  4. 1. Safe travels and time with loved ones.
    2. Being able to gather up compassion for things that used to make me lash out.
    3. The blue sky, against the green trees, the blue rivers flowing through the land I am walking on this week.

    tara

    May 25, 2009 at 1:42 pm

  5. 1) that the powers that be and rehearsal made me a dancer! and for all the amazing dancers who surround me.
    2) that i’m able to write this fine morning, which doesn’t happen every morning, and which i plan to take full advantage of.
    3) for the collection of MP3s that is enlivening my writing.

    Muse Carmona

    May 26, 2009 at 9:13 am

  6. 1) The sometimes underappreciated wealth of continued employment
    2) Life giving water falling from the sky, even though I know it ruined a picnic / beach day or two last weekend
    3) Support from family and friends as we transition to becoming a larger family unit

    Sera Evans

    May 26, 2009 at 12:56 pm

  7. 1) Parents who I can share with my Children, helping forge links across the years

    2) Memories of my grandparents. Walking on beaches, teaching me to flip a clam shell. Much later, how to finesse and bid and enjoy the intricacies of bridge.

    3) A summer camp for my daughter that nurtures her independent spirit, and at the same time reaches out to parents — Sharing space and rituals which span generations.

    zhaewry

    May 27, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  8. I am thankful for….
    1)finding this blog

    2) my father’s optimism about his health

    3) my husbands continued support

    shareleann

    May 29, 2009 at 1:43 am


Leave a Reply

