Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

June 1 Second Chances

with 8 comments

image grace mcdunnough

image grace mcdunnough

Yesterday I stepped outside for just a moment and from across the yard a tiny bit of amber caught my eye.    I wandered over and there she was, a lonely mushroom with her head held high, seemingly defying gravity or at least beating the odds.    I grabbed the camera and snapped just one shot and the combination of luck and light made me see her in a new way – not a teetering fungi but a graceful flower.

Sometimes you have to look twice to see what’s really there.

Today I’m thankful for

  1. those who have given me a second chance, and a third and …
  2. a place and time to share parts of me that are otherwise buried.
  3. for the gift of two kidneys instead of just one.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

June 1, 2009 at 7:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am thankful for

    1. the people I have laughed, cried and worked with for the past 11 years.

    2. being flexible, both in spirit and body.

    3. the cool side of the pillow on a warm summer night.

    Lyndzay Meili

    June 1, 2009 at 8:12 am

  2. On this sunny Monday I am thankful for:

    1) Today there is sunshine and after a week of rain she is a welcome sight.
    2) Discussion of the current hijinx being planned around the building and how it actually makes me laugh out loud.
    3) Time to explore, learn, grow and challenge the introvert in me; those who honestly support and encourage me in these endeavors.

    Noe

    June 1, 2009 at 9:48 am

  3. At the top of the list are:

    1) Bright and fun people who let me partake in a little of their lives, and who partake in a little of mine.
    2) Innovative art, music, events, etc., because it reminds me that all things creative are not simply that which has already been defined (painting, singing, etc.)
    3) That I have time to have lunch today (even if only 20 mins), a rarity on Mondays.

    Sera Evans

    June 1, 2009 at 11:40 am

  4. On this Monday, I am grateful for:

    1. Hope of a brighter future than I’ve allowed myself to think about in a long time.

    2. Being asked to be the Maid of Honor at a friend’s wedding on Wednesday. What an honor!

    3. The extended time off I’ve had that allowed me to reconnect with myself and remember some of my dreams.

    Joonie

    June 1, 2009 at 4:16 pm

  5. 1) the colour purple

    2) the light at the end of the tunnel where a long and tedious project is concerned

    3) the helpers that are sadly leaving soon – wishing them greener and more interesting pastures 🙂 – they won’t see this but they *will* know of my gratitude

    Bree Birke

    June 2, 2009 at 7:20 am

  6. 1. Vacations full of sunshine, friendship and love.

    2. Going home to my own bed, our pet Dexter and my own space.

    3. Feelings that make me have to catch my breath, thrilling, frightening, loving and alive.

    tara

    June 3, 2009 at 8:06 am

  7. The day I post this should be a hint for how busy the week has been, but I still have many things to be thankful for.

    1) The many friends who reach out and share, and let me reach out and share with them — Life shared is life enriched

    2) Bowls of hot soup, filled with nurturing goodness

    3) People who share their ideas in ways constructive and growthful.

    zhaewry

    June 4, 2009 at 1:28 pm

  8. I am thankful

    1) for a the little twists and turns that appear in the apparently simple path, making it worth the effort and end result.
    2) for all the good news & leads & people I dealt with. makes me hopeful about everything. Life is full of wonderful\giving resources
    3) for a wonderful friendship that is developing with a wonderful person

    AR

    June 5, 2009 at 7:29 am


Leave a Reply

