Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

June 22 Insights

with 6 comments

image courtesy flickr.com/photos/gracemcdunnough

image courtesy flickr.com/photos/gracemcdunnough

I have been working toward discovering, or rediscovering as it were, my state of natural wakefulness.  Wakefulness is our natural state: enlightened, complete, perfect in wisdom and compassion. It’s not something outside ourselves that we need to attain or become, it’s fully within us but as I’m learning requires effort and focus to find it.

I am on a journey to rediscover and uncover my true core, which has been heaped over, calloused, and consumed by things that so often send me from a place of peace to that of tension, anxiety and anger.   I want to escape the prison of those things that often unbalance my otherwise happy and blessed existence – from the pettiness and petulance of others to the pains of my own insecurities.

So today I am thankful for those things along the journey that remind me where I’m going and encourage me to keep walking.

  1. A unselfishly warm smile from a hurting heart.
  2. A flower, unwavering in the sweltering heat.
  3. The touch of a furry paw on my cheek in the morning, gentle but insistent with love.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

June 22, 2009 at 9:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My thanks are simple this week:

    1) People who show up for breakfast meetings
    2) Hardworking coworkers who spend the weekend working to help me ensure I make a deadline
    3) The kind reception of someone who “gets” what I’m trying to do after a long hard slog through those who don’t

    Sera Evans

    June 22, 2009 at 9:27 am

  2. On my journey, I am thankful for:

    1) Stolen gas cards: When you roam The Road Less Traveled, it helps when it is The Bill Less Paid For By Yourself. When people ask why the different names, I say “I take writing under pen names seriously. I even have different wardrobes for each name I write under.”

    2) Jack Daniels: Ever sipped this straight from the bottle with one of those long crazy straws? Saves the trouble of lining up shots on the dashboard.

    3) 8 Track Tapes: Oh, sure, it’s hard to get new stuff on 8-track. And there’s no 8TRACKbaby.com. But unless you have an awesome suspension system, wax cylinders and phonograph records are not an options… and the back seat’s only big enough for a quartet, not a full symphony. BABY GOT BACH!

    Fear and loathing on the road to perdition,
    -ls/cm

    Crap Mariner

    June 22, 2009 at 9:31 am

  3. As it’s a busy Monday, I’ll post early. I’m thankful that:

    1) It seems this iPhone is going to mean less stress and frustration; dealing with this Sprint Windows Media phone for the last 2 years has *sucked*.

    2) My boss seems ot be serious that we might all take our windows phones out to the range, so I can finally fulfill my promise to the phone that the last word it’ll ever hear me say is “PULL!”

    3) That a friend of mine wasn’t standing 3 feet closer to a device that failed catastrophically and walked away uninjured from something that could have been life-endangering (and no, I can’t give details, but yes, I’m very thankful!)

    Sean McPherson

    June 22, 2009 at 10:04 am

  4. Today I am thankful for:

    1) Patience, an internal stillness, which I am learning a little more about each week.
    2) Shared laughter, in person or over the phone with a friend, it is a healing, uplifting force.
    3) A life where simply going to the grocery store is all I have to do to restock when hungry.

    Noe

    June 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

  5. 1. Lyrics like Rose Cousins’ . . .
    “cry if you want to
    at some point we all do
    but at least you know
    that with each cry you grow
    so cry all night

    love if you want to
    cause so many love you
    share your heart with world
    let your story unfurl
    and let love take flight”

    2. Early morning light . . . and it’s promise of a fresh day before it gets too hot

    3. Nissan Stainless Coffee mugs . . . keeps what I want hot, hot.

    Troy

    June 22, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  6. 1. When someone, in this case you, put into words all that I am feeling and experiencing yet have no words of my own to help me express it to others.

    2. My own morning paw-waking experiences

    3. That my husband thinks of me…and finds subtle ways to let me know

    MLC

    June 22, 2009 at 3:31 pm


Leave a Reply

