Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

July 13 Symmetries

with 9 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/42614915@N00

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/42614915@N00

Whatever it is that pulls the pin, that hurls you past the boundaries of your own life into a brief and total beauty, even for a moment, it is enough.   – Jeanette Winterson, Gut Symetries, p. 219

Symmetries intrigue me, but it’s the tiny perturbations from perfect symmetry that keep me interested, engaged, and leaning forward.

Today I’m thankful for symmetries, and modest perturbations.

  1. I’m thankful that this site has become important enough to me that I didn’t let it become Tuesday without posting.
  2. I’m thankful for that pang when I’m missing someone, a gentle reminder of what’s important.
  3. And for making me laugh when I just wanted to scream today, thank you.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

July 13, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As this Monday passes into night I am thankful for:

    1) Dirt roads, unplanned adventures and new places.
    2) Home and the comfort of my own bed after being away.
    3) Quality silence, the kind that lets you breathe a little.

    Noe

    July 13, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  2. I’m very thankful right now for

    1) My dog Kozmo, curled up on my feet, tired from our run this evening, and slowing down after nearly a decade togather after his rescue from the pound
    2) Broadband internet and the ability to multitask; I’m so OCD that if I was living in a lowbandwidth world I’d be a danger to society!
    3) Bacon. Because… well, it’s *bacon*.

    Sean McPherson

    July 13, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  3. After a Monday full of rush and clamor, the evening slows down, and I have time to collect my thoughts. I am thankful for:

    1) Being able to reach our across oceans and continents to my love, for quiet connected moments.

    2) Time to share Giraffes, Otters, and an utterly mediocre Zoo Pizza with the toddler.

    3) That, even as it drives me to distraction, I have a job, which engages my mind, and keeps me in touch with my sense of awe and delight.

    zhaewry

    July 13, 2009 at 10:40 pm

  4. Today I am thankful for

    1) crossing things off my list and making room for new things.

    2) being able to find that song that will make me smile when I’m feeling stressed.

    3) finding the Samoas in the garage freezer, out of season Girl Scout cookies are a special treat.

    lyndzaym

    July 13, 2009 at 11:49 pm

  5. To be capable and willing to accept love that is so freely given to me.

    The giggles of friends in my ear across the miles, that make them melt away like a vapor.

    Those moments when teen and parent disappear and child and mother are closer to our truest faces.

    tara

    July 14, 2009 at 2:54 am

  6. 1) My supportive partner who I adore

    2) My family who is 100% supportive of my need to fly across the ocean

    3) Hanging out with poets, scientists and publishers drinking beer in an infant nation, talking about politics, religion and culture

    chestnut

    July 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  7. 1) I’m thankful I can still add a comment, even though I’m late. 🙂

    2) I’m thankful for Second Life® which opened a door in my heart & helped me find a way back to myself.

    3) I’m thankful that I’ve finally found, I think, a sustainable balance between my digital & atomic lives. I am content.

    Lynn/Lyncean

    July 15, 2009 at 10:09 am

  8. 1. the warmth of friendship and the campfire when camping in the wilderness with friends
    2. seeing a double rainbow stretch into the valley
    3. walking among fields of wildflowers nearly chest-high

    Andrea Meyer

    July 15, 2009 at 3:52 pm

  9. 1) This fan on my desk is small and mighty, casting its miniature winds upon me with relieving gusts.
    2) Lemons don’t scream when you cut into them. Or, if they do, they’re quiet enough for me not to hear.
    3) The freak in the mirror can’t punch back.

    Crap Mariner

    July 16, 2009 at 11:59 am


Leave a Reply

