Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

July 20 Dreams

with 7 comments

image courtesy NASA

image courtesy NASA

I remember the first time I uttered the words “I want to be an astronaut“.   My Grandfather took his eyes off the fishing lure, cracked his half smile grin and although I thought knew what he must be thinking, he replied “If there’s one I thing I know, it’s that you can be anything you want to be; you just have to work hard.  Now hand me those pliers.”

Dreams propel us past our real and perceived limitations.  Don’t forget to dream.

Today I am thankful for the stuff of dreams:

  1. waking from a dream at 3AM with an answer I’ve needed.
  2. for my Grandfather’s gentle but firm hand on my shoulder, even now.
  3. for those that inspire HOPE at a time when I feel helpless.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

July 20, 2009 at 7:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am thankful…

    1) For the many friends I’ve made over the years in IRC, and I’m hoping the changes I’m making in the channel guidelines bring them closer together and not push them farther apart
    2) That so many people found it in their hearts during these tough economic times to donate more to RFL than last year, and hopefully help save more lives
    3) That Sprite Zero isn’t really all that bad, since it’s the first no-calorie/no-caffeine soda I’ve ever been able to stand!

    Sean McPherson

    July 20, 2009 at 7:59 am

  2. I am feeling gratitude for…

    10 full hours of deep dreamless sleep.

    A new more peaceful place to live.

    Connecting more deeply with myself and other, finding the process of discomfort about my personal shortcomings to be easing into a deeper place of self acceptance as I see love mirrored back from those around me.

    Thank you.

    tara

    July 20, 2009 at 8:16 am

  3. Those that give of their time to help others

    The connectivity of the Internet, which allows us to share more every day

    An extra hour of sleep yesterday, which was sorely needed

    Sera Evans

    July 20, 2009 at 8:28 am

  4. On this rainy Monday morning I am thankful for:

    1) Summer thunder storms which bring life giving waters to the ground and delightful sounds to my windows.
    2) Friends willing to go out with me when I get the whim to do so.
    3) A rich, full imagination and the ability to visualize within my own head for art or for daydreaming.

    Noe

    July 20, 2009 at 9:25 am

  5. for lovely soft hotel beds

    for a lovely rhiannon to share the steps of harvard square with

    for a lovely conference this morning

    . . .

    bonus thanks: for feeling healthy enough this morning to be able to say thanks, for the first time in weeks.

    Muse Carmona

    July 20, 2009 at 9:57 am

  6. 3 Thanks….

    1-The thoughts every day of her…

    2-Really loud obnoxious muscle cars

    3-Technology and medicine advancements that allow me to continue living every day..

    Tommer

    July 20, 2009 at 9:57 am

  7. Today I am thankful for

    1. To have the opportunity to travel

    2. Reading great poets

    3. The friendliness of people you meet on your way

    Hute

    July 20, 2009 at 11:36 am


Leave a Reply

