Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Aug 17 Lucky

with 10 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/ajawin

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/ajawin

“I’d rather be lucky than good, any day.”   This is another bit of wisdom imparted to me by my grandfather and throughout my life, it’s become a bit of a mantra for me.

My friends used to call me “Lucky” but not because I’m the one who wins the lottery or contests, but because somehow despite the crazy predicaments I’ve found myself I’ve usually landed on me feet – beaten, bruised, battered but still standing.

Lucky, I’m okay with that.

Today I’m thankful for

  1. those little bits of luck in my life that find me dangling from the last tree limb on the cliff but give me a way to scramble back to a safe spot.
  2. summer rain – even if it’s hot and sticky, there’s still refreshment and renewal.
  3. the little slice of peace and quiet this morning before Monday finds her legs.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

August 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1) The 6am realization that my body clock is wrong and even though its Monday morning I don’t have to get up for work. Vacation FTW!

    2) A long paddle down the Ausable chasm later today is the best thing around and will take the edge off the summer humidity.

    3) Smores

    Chestnut Rau

    August 17, 2009 at 9:10 am

  2. I’m Lucky for friends all over the world who buoy me up, who pick up the slack when I feel like I’m falling apart… who share intelligence, wisdom, joy, laughter and music… who enrich my life in ways they may never know! And I thank them all from the bottom of my heart!

    Katydid Something

    August 17, 2009 at 10:10 am

  3. Alright, I guess I need 2 more:
    2.) I’m thankful for my 2 feline housemates who are happy when I return home.

    3.) For tropical mornings in my home of Key West which kiss the orchids with light rain.

    Katydid Something

    August 17, 2009 at 10:14 am

  4. 1) Constant, consistent presence of all the tiny, small things in life that actually are very BIG things … loving family & friends, health, heart, life essence, having more than enough of everything… things that are easy to take for granted when adversity is not knocking at the door.

    2) A path unfolding, the guiding force gently leading me on & surprisingly I feel no resistance of logic&rationale rising inside me. Trust seems to have taken over 🙂

    3)For having more than enough of everything, & the joy of sharing without any sense of scarcity

    AR

    August 17, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  5. Thankful:
    1… that I KNOW I can stand on my own
    2… for the knowledge that was given me and how it constantly is expanding
    3… for the little bits of hope that are surrounded by dread when she goes back, again and again

    Tommer

    August 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm

  6. Summer has rolled in full tilt, hazy murk obscuring the Manhattan skyline. The murky heat imposes a slowness on one’s motion, and the haze a softness on the angular NY shapes. Amidst all this, I am thankful for:

    1) Slower moments, between the sprints of daily life.

    2) A summer break for all who need one, including those paddling down lazy chasms, to keep cool

    3) Luck, in all forms, for all who need it.

    zhaewry

    August 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

  7. I am thankful for

    1. Great writers who are able to give words life and soul and make me forget time and fills me up with joy

    2. My revival after a monday who only had in mind to destroy everything for me

    3. Beauty of the many facets of different people which gives me energy and builds up my love

    Hute

    August 17, 2009 at 2:52 pm

  8. After a long day today I am thankful for:

    1) The job I have and that it remains steady for me to return to after a summer break.
    2) Stories in collections, from old friends, from co-workers and from those important to me whether epic or just the tale of a day.
    3) How the stars work hard to align for me without ever having been asked.

    Noe

    August 17, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  9. thankful that some of my best friends are still dangling from that tree limb

    thankful that music is always a healing force in my life

    and thankful that sometimes there is a little moment of peace and quiet to think of those I love

    Sally

    August 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm

  10. I know it’s Wednesday but I scribbled these into my phone on monday, really!

    I’m thankful for all the folks who worked so hard to pull off a successful SLCC last week…

    I’m thankful for all the folks who *attended* the SLCC last week, for showing it was worth everyone’s effort 🙂

    And I’m thankful for cotton sheets, because I got to spend a few hours in them at the very end of this weekend without working, and it was sooooo nice.

    Sean McPherson

    August 19, 2009 at 4:34 pm


Leave a Reply

