Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Aug 31 Swish swish swish

with 6 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/raceytay

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/raceytay

In the big city the twin spirits Romance and Adventure are always abroad seeking worthy wooers. As we roam the streets they slyly peep at us and challenge us in twenty different guises. Without knowing why, we look up suddenly to see in a window a face that seems to belong to our gallery of intimate portraits; in a sleeping thoroughfare we hear a cry of agony and fear coming from an empty and shuttered house; instead of at our familiar curb, a cab-driver deposits us before a strange door, which one, with a smile, opens for us and bids us enter; a slip of paper, written upon, flutters down to our feet from the high lattices of Chance; we exchange glances of instantaneous hate, affection and fear with hurrying strangers in the passing crowds; a sudden douse of rain—and our umbrella may be sheltering the daughter of the Full Moon and first cousin of the Sidereal System; at every corner handkerchiefs drop, fingers beckon, eyes besiege, and the lost, the lonely, the rapturous, the mysterious, the perilous, changing clues of adventure are slipped into our fingers. But few of us are willing to hold and follow them. We are grown stiff with the ramrod of convention down our backs. We pass on; and some day we come, at the end of a very dull life, to reflect that our romance has been a pallid thing of a marriage or two, a satin rosette kept in a safe-deposit drawer, and a lifelong feud with a steam radiator.     –  O. HENRY, “The Green Door”

Here goes Monday, with a sudden douse of rain dancing carelessly against the cemented parts of our hearts.  Smile, curtsy, and carry on in worn out galoshes and unflattering rain coats that swish swish swish as we hurry, head down, toward the day.

There goes Monday; stop and say hello.

This Monday I am thankful for

  1. the gentlemen that held the door patiently while I was slow moving and otherwise lost in thought.
  2. the ruby-throated gems that have found refuge on the feeder.
  3. a second wind for a good idea.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

August 31, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Monday began slowly for me and not in a particularly cheerful or positive way, but by the end of the day, three things that I am extremely thankful for emerged:
    1. A letter from a college with positive news regarding steps along the way to a new teaching job.
    2. Feeling energized by the many creative projects I have found to do in Second Life.
    3. The hope that universal health care may no longer be a dream seems much brighter today than in the past.

    mimi muircastle

    August 31, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  2. Today, despite that it is a Monday and work seems to be inhaling me, I am thankful for:

    1) Getting to witness the woman who parked, got out of her car and walked back up the road in her business clothes to pick up the small turtle and put him somewhere safe.
    2) Standing up for myself, calmly, when I felt it was needed and not letting fear rob me of dignity.
    3) Leaving the house with a friend and dancing around dressing rooms.

    Noe

    August 31, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  3. 1) For a “cool” weekend – I can finally use my patio and revel in nature without feeling like I have been shoved in a furnace 🙂 & I caught so many of thos wonderful moments this weekend 🙂 🙂

    2) For my determination in looking ahead & ONLY ahead & doing what is needed to go in that direction

    3) For all the bumps and scratches (literally & figuratively) I get as a reminder to slow down and find grace & gratitude. This morning I got 2 😀

    AR

    September 1, 2009 at 11:52 am

  4. a) a warm cup of tea
    b) hope
    c) reminder to take note of what all i can be thankful for..

    KK

    September 1, 2009 at 12:19 pm

  5. I am late to the party but I am so thankful for

    1) The kindness of so many and the unexpected surprise they brought me (and the soon to be mine) tonight
    2) The nip, growl, and lick of a puppy who reminds me that right now (and he does mean RIGHT NOW) matters
    3) A happy early fall-like cool breeze, however temporary it may be

    Sera Evans

    September 2, 2009 at 1:03 am

  6. Today… friday… I am thankful for

    1. To feel my co-workers concern for me after some hard days at my job

    2. Gifts!! A lot of gifts! Best it has to be chocolate

    3. To have a whole week-end for myself and to spend it on what I want to

    Hute

    September 4, 2009 at 5:02 pm


Leave a Reply

