Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

September 7 Labor

with 7 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/24443965@N08

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/24443965@N08

Too often I forget how my luxuries are sometimes the burden of those that labor.  According to the photo:  “In 1894, Japan exported fifty million pounds of tea, three-fourths of which came to the United States.  The labor of picking of this immense crop is performed largely by children.”  There are beautiful faces in that photo, have a look at the original.

Today I am thankful for:

  1. A simple day of rest.
  2. Quiet moments of reflection.
  3. A gathering of good friends, good food and healthy laughter.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

September 7, 2009 at 9:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On this quiet Monday morning I am thankful for:

    1) Wine, cheese, crackers, sausage, veggies and good friends who come to your home and push away the quiet on football night.
    2) A text message which came unexpectedly and brought a smile.
    3) Bookstores; the smell, the feel, the touch, the ideas.

    Noe

    September 7, 2009 at 10:02 am

  2. 1) Kids, and the opportunity to be surrounded (and, sometimes, overwhelmed) by them
    2) My job, which allows me days of rest
    3) The safety and security of the lives we lead

    Sera Evans

    September 7, 2009 at 10:29 am

  3. I’m thankful …

    1) that I live in a time & place where women are free to do their own work;

    2) for the ability to have a desk job while still having some manual labor to do, and

    3) for the love of my family.

    Lyncean

    September 7, 2009 at 11:22 am

  4. This week I am thankful for
    1) Deep faith which is getting stronger every day
    2) Time,Resources,Energy,Will and the ability to use them together efficiently to do what I wish to do towards my goals
    3) Quality time with loved ones, inspite of the busy in the days/

    AR

    September 7, 2009 at 11:57 am

  5. I’m thankful for…

    1. An education which taught me critical thinking, to listen to more than one side of an issue.

    2. Building on the first: A sense of caution of the tongue, to not speak until I have fully formed the thought — which often takes research!

    3. For a day of quiet.

    Katydid Something

    September 7, 2009 at 4:52 pm

  6. 1) For the people, the circumstances, the words, the questions- that keep nudging me, slowly but steadily, towards a place of assurance within.

    2) For not having to worry about a roof on my head or food on my plate.

    3) For a ray of hope, yet again!

    KK

    September 8, 2009 at 12:36 pm

  7. Today I’m thankful for

    1. Well-dressed men who can behave properly and are polite

    2. Snap my fingers and sing to my favorite song so it makes my dreams real

    3. That Rome only is a few clicks away from me on my computer

    Hute

    September 10, 2009 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

