Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

September 21 Rain

with 6 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/cwsteeds

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/cwsteeds

I opened my eyes
And looked up at the rain,
And it dripped in my head
And flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head.

Rain, by Shel Silverstein

Today I am thankful for …

  1. a roof over our heads that is not *knock on wood* leaking.
  2. being happily contented to sit in the rain and listen to great live music with friends.
  3. for the woman who sat next me, a brain cancer survivor, smiling and laughing and living so out loud.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

September 21, 2009 at 1:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lots I am thankful for

    This week its
    1) For the little child, in all of us, nudging us gleefully to all thats true.

    2) For that beautiful smile, that always shines through, clearing the deepest, densest clouds of blue.

    3) For this life force, the fountain of delight,
    in me, around me, which lives,breathes, talks, everything thats right.

    AR

    September 21, 2009 at 1:47 pm

  2. Today I am thankful for:

    1) Low gray clouds and 70 degree weather while the AC is out in our building.
    2) Getting into a book enough so that when I am not reading it I wonder what will happen with the characters next.
    3) Friends who believe in my abilities enough to suggest me to others for creative projects.

    Noe

    September 21, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  3. This warm early fall Monday, I am thankful for:

    1) Sunny moments, and rainy ones, entangled, because without the one, we lose the joy of the others, and vice versa.

    2) A partner who haw patience with my obsessions, insanities, and blindness

    3) The quiet moments to actually stop and think of my thanks.

    zhaewry

    September 21, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  4. Today I am thankful for

    1. My dad and his humour present at anytime to make people around him feel happy and myself lucky

    2. My mom and her concern and care for every child in her family and our loved ones

    3. My sister and her ever-present way to give awkwardly and hilariously life-giving ideas

    Hutelein

    September 21, 2009 at 2:26 pm

  5. Today – besides actually having the time to breathe and do this for once – I am thankful for:

    1) The little distractions that make an intense Monday a little lighter

    2) Voices – the real ones, not the ones in my head 😉

    3) The afternoon sun coming in through the window

    Bree Birke

    September 21, 2009 at 4:41 pm

  6. Right now, I am thankful for sandbags.

    manx

    September 21, 2009 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

