Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

September 29 Music

with 6 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/angelocesare

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/angelocesare

I realize that a musician being thankful for music is oh-so-obvious, but this week I cannot escape it.    Music is such an important part of who I am that sometimes just maybe I take it for granted.  So instead I will be boldly grateful.

Today, I am thankful for

  1. the chance to hear live music, unmediated and bouncing off the hollow walls of an old bar.
  2. hard working, authentic musicians that continue to inspire me.
  3. finding and striking chords I thought were long lost but instead were merely waiting for the right time to ring true.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

September 29, 2009 at 9:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The last three days have been absolutely stunning outside and today that little gift makes me grateful for:

    1) Friends who will make me get out of my desk chair and spend time walking through this amazing weather outside.
    2) Options for the drive home which include mountain roads that roll out under my wheels like poetry.
    3) Windows that roll down and a moonroof that opens so I can smell the fall grass and let my music blast from my car in a sweet release after work.

    Noe

    September 29, 2009 at 10:49 am

  2. Fall is sweeping across the hills of New York State, and having spent the past day contemplating, thanks feel very much in order. I am thankful for:

    1) All of my families in all worlds, who share in keeping me sane, happy and fulfilled

    2) People who share their creative talents with the world, making it a richer place.

    3) The last of the summer corn, and the first of the fall squash and apples, linking the seasons in a chain

    zhaewry

    September 29, 2009 at 10:56 am

  3. the impulse to be kind

    people who are so responsible that when you run into one of their alts in a club and strike up a conversation, they feel obliged to tell you later on that it was one of their alts

    my birthday presents 🙂

    daleinnis

    September 29, 2009 at 11:03 am

  4. Love the photo! And it makes me think of many musical things in my life…

    1.) I am thankful my family instilled the love of music in me from day 1! My father met my mother in the record store where she worked. He would come in and collect classical music albums to listen to in the listening booth. My mom’s last name was Molaskey. My father’s name was Arthur. He became know as “Moe’s Art.”

    2.) I’m thankful that my mother required us kids to take at least on year of piano lessons. I think I took 2 years then bailed. But I continued to play the family piano — till I got my first guitar when I was 11 or 12. The piano lessons gave me the foundation I needed to carry on.

    3.) I’m thankful that I carried my guitar around all these years, even though I wasn’t playing it. And Thanks to Second Life it now is out on a guitar stand instead of in the case and I am playing again…and the tips of my fingers are hard again.

    Katydid Something

    September 29, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  5. The picture is so sublime. Simple display of guitar strings – yet so beautiful….
    Past few days I have been reflecting about the suffering around the world, and how so many have so little of even the most basic. and how so many would be content with just a piece of bread while many of us whine about a missed pedicure appointment. About how so many of us are so full of themselves, yet there are lots who live&grow with others. About how inspite of so much hopeless-ness , there is so much abundance of hope.
    This week I am thankful for
    1) The love in the hearts of all my close family & friends for others. Makes me want to be a better me always.
    2) Genuine human nature, always right there in front of you.. to see and learn from
    3) Music…. its a universal force.
    1) a

    AR

    September 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

  6. I am thankful for a great mentor that I am getting a chance to work with and learn a lot.

    I am thankful for this wonderful opportunity to work on.

    I am really thankful for beautiful gift I received from my mom. I am thankful for a frd who hand delivered it to me.

    And I am thankful for the festivities churning in the air.

    And I love myself, feel good about myself 🙂

    Parul

    September 30, 2009 at 10:40 am


Leave a Reply

