Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

November 9th Calm

with 3 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/spunfunkster

I was not calm this morning.  On the contrary, Monday’s first light conspired to make me edgy and quick to judge and generally explosive.   I initially posted this image at the header, but it was not inspiring – not in the least – in fact it felt like a call to be self destructive.   I waited to post and stared at that image in defiance and slowly the day started to relent, if ever so slightly, as I started to think about the things for which I am grateful.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from this blog is that it images and words can bring you down faster that you can imagine.   But a reflective moment, coffee with a sympathetic colleague or a short walk in the park can transform a perfectly dreadful morning into a hope-filled afternoon.  I’m not quite at the “hope-filled” stage at the moment but as least I’m not primed for explosion.

I am completely self-centered at the moment, and that’s okay because today I’m at least thankful that:

  1. despite the times I feel completely inconsequential, someone shines a light in my eyes.
  2. I started this blog – it’s been a great equalizer for me and I’ve learned that Mondays are perhaps particularly suited for a few moments of reflection.
  3. I didn’t do anything crazy and/or rash this morning, thanks to a few gentle but well-timed words from a friend.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

November 9, 2009 at 4:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m thankful that…

    1. I’m not alone/not the only one who felt that way this AM, it seems 🙂 Perhaps, in part through Three Thanks, by sharing our pain, we can lessen it, and by sharing our joys, we increase them, as Spider Robinson said.

    2. Tomorrow is another day! Fiddle-dee-dee!

    3. Tomorrow is only a day awayyyyyyyyyy!

    Sean McPherson

    November 9, 2009 at 6:56 pm

  2. I am thankful…

    1) That nightmares are just that and you wake into the blessed silence of your own bedroom.
    2) That I knew when it was time to give in and speak out.
    3) For the little things and the people who keep my head above water every day.

    Noe

    November 10, 2009 at 9:34 am

  3. 1) Thankful that I had a packed but wonderful weekend filled with people who give such a powerful boost to my energy
    2) Monday started well then ran into storms – and I am very thankful I have tools to stabilize my storms
    3) Very thankful for life – every new day is one more chance at giving it your bestest shot.

    AR

    November 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm


Leave a Reply

