Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Dec 7 Two Roads Diverged

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/garyj

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

from The Road Not Taken, by Robert Frost

I didn’t post yesterday.   I sat down to write but there was this thing circling around in my head refusing any sort of meaningful articulation, and then I saw this image this morning and it resolved.

Ask yourself honestly what you thought of these two men when you first looked at this picture.  Did your mind race to dichotomy?  Did your mind tell your stories about them – who or what they were, in stark black and white?

But this isn’t really a black and white image, is it?  Isn’t it merely shades of gray layered one upon the other, much like the decisions we make every day?  Do this, not that.  Go here, not there.  Wear this, not that.  It’s maddening really.  Equally maddening is how we cast people, like fish from a net, into two buckets – keep, throw away.

Look again, you may see shades of gray.

Today I am just thankful that …

  1. I have the luxury of making decisions.
  2. you notice the little things.
  3. I forced myself to post, albeit “late”.   This little blog has become a special place for me.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

December 8, 2009 at 10:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There is winter in the air and today I am thankful for:

    1) The first snow of my winter that turned last Saturday into a beautiful, white washed, muted world.
    2) Finding my Christmas cheer that seemed to be buried last year.
    3) The fun in trying to find something small for others, a little trinket to make them smile.

    Noe

    December 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  2. It’s raining outside as if I need to build an ark, but Today I’m thankful that:

    1) It’s rain and not snow, or I’d worry about a roof collapse 🙂

    2) I found a book I’d been hunting thru the basement library for over the course of several weeks (yes, we own a lot of books) and am happily consuming it again

    3) 2 of the people who tend to cheer me up the most in SL, plurk, etc (just through their being who they are) have a new home online and I’m excited to see what comes of it, even if it’s a private place they don’t let anyone else see (which I doubt would be the case, but I’m betting just hearing about it would be fun, even so)

    Sean 'Tinker' McPherson

    December 8, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  3. 1. Advances in stapler technology. These new staplers rock.

    2. Microfibre cloths. Dust doesn’t stand a chance.

    3. Curbside garbage collection.

    Norris Shepherd

    December 8, 2009 at 2:20 pm

  4. 1. After 2 weeks in the hospital, I am home.
    2. Sitting in a warm house while the snow continues to fall.
    3. My impending nap.

    Dorie

    December 8, 2009 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

