Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Dec 14 Birthdays

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/robbrooks

Another life year has passed and this blog is a year old.

I don’t think much about birthdays.  Maybe it’s because I’m a December baby and this close to Christmas the last thing people want to worry about is a birthday. It’s more likely because I resist obligatory routines, but whatever the reason I’ve never been a “birthday person”.  I think I will try to change that moving forward because birthdays do provide a good place to say “thank you” to those people in your life that make all the difference.

Today, I’m thankful …

  1. for birthday wishes from people around the world
  2. for the people that come here and share their thanks
  3. for this morning’s milky white blanket of fog

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

December 14, 2009 at 9:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This morning, fog covered the land and it seems ice coated the roads. I, however, made it safely to my destination without a flaw; there were those that were not so lucky. In light of that I am thankful for:

    1) The creatures who watch over me – call them angels or the fates or bits of luck – they have kept me safe for years and continue to do so.
    2) For birthdays, for a chance to say though I think of you other times, today I am glad you are on this planet and in my world.
    3) For unexpected quiet time to get a little extra done.

    Noe

    December 14, 2009 at 10:20 am

  2. Wow, it’s been a while and I felt compelled today – must be the birthday thing, since I’m glad of the chance to wish you a happy one!

    But that’s the bonus today – I am thankful for:

    1) My job – there are days, weeks, even months, where the stress gets to me but it gives me freedoms and the chance to be creative in ways that I’ll probably never use for; yet I’m still encouraged to follow up on them, just in case.

    2) My friends – I will probably never stop mentioning my friends, but they are a big part of why I want to be, simply be.

    3) My lil ol’ (touch wood) reliable car – danged convenient, especially with winter having truly begun.

    Bree Birke

    December 14, 2009 at 5:34 pm

  3. Today, I’m thankful that…

    1 & 2 Combined) First, I made it to work this morning in one piece, despite not having had any sleep at all last night and that one drunk driver who tried to take me out at 4:45 AM (and yes, I did call him in, and yes, I did hear on my scanner that they caught him, and that means no one else got hit or almost hit by him, so that counts as #2!)

    3) Turtles exist, because without them, I wouldn’t have something guaranteed to make Bree giggle whenever she see’s me write about them 🙂

    Sean 'Tinker' McPherson

    December 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

  4. 1.) books
    2.) Electricity
    3.) high speed data transmission

    Norris Shepherd

    December 16, 2009 at 1:05 pm


Leave a Reply

