Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Dec 29 Instructions

with 5 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/drp

If Life came with instructions, would anyone actually read them?  I guess a few would pour over them intently, and then spend their days reminding the rest of us that we’re “doing it wrong“.    This year has felt like perhaps I should have read the instructions, or at least asked an instruction reader a time or two:  “Does this sound right to you?“.

I feel a little like 2009 has overstayed its welcome and I’d shoo it out the back door but it’s swollen and stuck shut from all the rain.  Does anyone have instructions on how to open a swollen door?

Today, I’m thankful that ..

  1. despite the storms that have rocked this year, somehow we are still hanging on – singing a sailor’s song.
  2. Life doesn’t come with instructions.  I would be tempted to look up all the things I’ve done wrong.
  3. the ones that love me don’t read the instructions either.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

December 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As my vacation slows toward the end and the old year is packing its bags I am quite thankful for:

    1) Talking, honestly talking, out loud and understanding.
    2) Touches, butterfly touches, reminders.
    3) The way my skin can become sun warmed in my office from bright rays that dance through glass.

    Noe

    December 29, 2009 at 5:18 pm

  2. 1. The friends and people who love me who don’t expect me to read the manual
    2. The friends and people who love me who have tried
    3. The friends and people who love me

    Sally

    December 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

  3. I’m thankful today for:

    Aleve, seriously. Modern medicine is pretty handy stuff when you’re back is out…

    Pre-mixed all-purpose drywall mud, because my back would be even angrier if I’d had to mix it up today as opposed to just scraping it out of the bucket into my troweling tray.

    Good books, because nothing helps me ‘get away’ for a few minutes like one of the couple thousand in the library here at the house 🙂

    Sean McPherson

    December 29, 2009 at 8:19 pm

  4. I had a high school math teacher who always said, “If all else fails, follow the instructions.” 🙂

    I’m thankful for:
    1) not having to go outside on a bitter cold, snowy day
    2) a well-insulated house filled with the beings I love most
    3) hobbies to occupy my thoughts & hands

    Lyncean

    December 29, 2009 at 9:47 pm

  5. I’m thankful for:
    1 – surviving 2009 (without instructions)
    2 – my family surviving 2009 despite hardships they all faced
    3 – a good job to carry me from one year to the next

    LPT

    January 4, 2010 at 12:09 pm


Leave a Reply

