Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

January 11 Dawn

with 9 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/scooterflix

I do not say that John or Jonathan, that this generation or the next, will realize all this; but such is the character of that morrow which mere lapse of time can never make to dawn.  The light which puts out our eyes is darkness to us. Only that day dawns to which we are awake. There is more day to dawn. The sun is but a morning star.                           – from Walden by Henry David Thoreau

There is indeed more day to dawn; we are eleven days into the New Year 2010 – a milestone for many, a mile marker for others.  This morning I stood and watched the pink dawn slowly fade against the canopy of frozen trees that frame our neighborhood and wished there was a rewind.  I’m slow to move but anxious to face the day after a long time away.

Today I am thankful for

  1. getting home safely
  2. so many good friends to lend a hand
  3. a gentle pink dawn

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

January 11, 2010 at 8:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today I am thankful for:

    1) Warm gloves, earwarmers and coats
    2) People who donated the above items to charities in their area
    3) The fact that the days are getting longer again 🙂

    SeanMcPherson Senior

    January 11, 2010 at 8:59 am

  2. I’m thankful for

    closets

    liquid gel ink pens

    resilience

    Norris Shepherd

    January 11, 2010 at 9:31 am

  3. Today I am thankful for

    1) My boss because he allows me intellectual freedom and does not police my activities

    2) My employer because it is a great organization that treats people well and I am proud of our mission and long tradition of contributing to the creation of a better world.

    3) Grace for creating this blog. I don’t post as often as I would like but reading here makes me stop and think about the blessings of my family and friends weekly.

    chestnut

    January 11, 2010 at 9:49 am

  4. On this January Monday morning I am quite thankful for:

    1) Old music found and loved once more as it floods my world with memories.
    2) A visit with a friend full of laughter and silly moments.
    3) Taking time to explore.

    Noe

    January 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

  5. Lately, I’ve been thankful for some little things:
    1) hot chocolate and its warm mug
    2) dogs that want to curl up with you on the couch
    3) family that buys you gag gifts like a Snuggie that actually turn out to be great gifts

    LPT

    January 11, 2010 at 10:40 am

  6. On this day, I am grateful for:

    1. The sun peeking out of the clouds, warming things up a bit

    2. New calendars

    3. Good friends who share their creative genius with me and others

    Joonie

    January 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  7. seriously couldn’t be more thankful for:

    1. fire
    2. firewood
    3. fireplaces

    brrr.

    Troy

    January 11, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  8. Reflecting over the past week or two, I love that there are/will be/were:

    1) clear dry cold days in which I could put stuff I don’t need (though it’s still in good condition) on the sidewalk, and have it “walk away,” knowing it will be used.

    2) conversations leading to anticipation of good music to come

    3) silly memories made

    Bree Birke

    January 11, 2010 at 4:02 pm

  9. 1. Fuzzy slippers that still do their job after being forgotten in the back of the closet for 2 years.
    2. Veggies that I don’t have to chop myself when my hands are cold and achy.
    3. The people who make my soul as warm and full as my feet and tummy.

    salomestrangelove

    January 11, 2010 at 4:59 pm


Leave a Reply

