Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

Feb 1 Train Wreck

with 4 comments

Train wreck at Montparnasse Station, at Place de Rennes side (now Place du 18 Juin 1940), Paris, France, 1895.

Last week was a bit of a train wreck for me at work where I found myself in surreal WTF moment after moment and by Friday the course of events actually took me off the track into a meltdown.  Office politics are the rue of my existence;  I don’t play so I sometimes have to pay.

I took time to go through the natural progression of disbelief, confusion, then frustration and anger which can be sometimes where I get stuck for a long time.  However, this time I did what I haven’t really done well in the past – I looked for the hidden messages and a way to apply them positively for myself. I let go of my disappointment in and expectations of other people and set my sights back on getting things done.

It was wildly liberating.

I am starting to listen to my life beat – those tiny impulses that we can actually moderate for the better.  I am learning to let go of the stuff that doesn’t matter and keep my sights on the happy bits.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not all tulips and daisies, but even train wrecks are starting to look like a good thing from the right angle.

Today I am thankful for

  1. developing the personal presence to not completely lose my shit and make matters worse.
  2. friends and colleagues that went out of their way to help.
  3. an hour of clarity, an hour of laughter, and an hour of laser focused attention.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

February 1, 2010 at 7:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today I’m thankful that:

    1) A sinus migraine is the worst of my medical worries,

    2) My plan to ‘improve my heart health’ is still going well, step by step,

    and

    3) There are oodles of amazing people that I know online in various fashions who are willing to constantly remind me to ‘step up’.

    SeanMcPherson Senior

    February 1, 2010 at 7:57 am

  2. 1) Well trained medical professionals helping loved ones get better.
    2) Dear friends in the atomic and virtual worlds.
    3) Being surrounded by love.

    charlanna

    February 1, 2010 at 8:33 am

  3. This past weekend brought me a few things for which I am quite thankful:

    1) Snow; the way it blankets the earth in peace and silence for awhile.
    2) Text messaging; so I might watch The Grammy Awards and make an long time friend laugh as hard as she was making me laugh with quips and commentary.
    3) Books; they have been my distractions, my saviors, my way of disappearing, my teachers, my travel companions and other secret little things that make them completely sacred to me.

    Noe

    February 1, 2010 at 9:01 am

  4. 1) Nardo wrestling with and beating the crap out of Bruwyn last night. Glad to see there’s still some fight in that old furry bastard.

    2) Cans of that breakfast-replacement goo. Never was self-delusion so convenient and tasty.

    3) Tweetdeck. Now I have no clue who the hell I am or who I’m writing as. NINJA PUNCH! (thud)

    -ls/cm

    Crap Mariner

    February 1, 2010 at 12:18 pm


Leave a Reply

