Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

March 8 Stretch

with 5 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/jroldenette

Gratitude is merely the secret hope of further favors.   – Francios De La Rochefoucauld

This has been one of those predatory weeks.  The kind that pluck at you from your normal routine as if it was your turn to play out your role in the food chain.  Day after day, your heart and soul fills up with dark liquid and you think you might drown from the inside out.

It’s hard to find gratitude in these waters.  It’s hard to see, it’s hard to wade through the murk and you think it might be best just to skip this one and catch up next week when you are “feeling it”.

But perhaps it’s now even more important to stretch your wings and  find a few morsels of gratitude.

Today I am thankful

  1. to have a furry paw insistently tapped against my cheek
  2. for the broad wing hawk who stopped two feet from the kitchen window and winked “good morning”
  3. for being blessed with always on connections, digital, analog, carbon based  .. because while sometimes I love to be alone, I hate to be lonely.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

March 8, 2010 at 8:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It has been a very long but recharging weekend.

    Today, I am thankful

    1) That I live in a country where I can feel like I have a chance of safeguarding my basic rights,

    2) That after having ‘gotten the heck out’ of my house when I turned 18, my parents and I have a pretty good relationship and we can all enjoy an afternoon at the shooting range together, and

    3) that I didn’t have to scrape frost off the car in what seems like forever this morning!!!

    Sean McPherson

    March 8, 2010 at 9:01 am

  2. Today I’m thankful for
    1. coffee, really
    2. music that brings a smile to my face when I don’t feel like smiling
    3. the hole in my sock this morning that reminded me there’s always someone worse off than me

    Sally

    March 8, 2010 at 9:15 am

  3. This morning the sun broke through silken clouds during my drive to work and I thought a bit about the things for which I am thankful.

    1) Honesty with those I trust deeply; it is a hard won place to be with me but once there each person is protected fiercely.
    2) Being able to coax a laugh, that rich real sound that makes me laugh in return, out of a friend who is treading those dark waters.
    3) The raw surprise and giddy smile on a tiny face when something, so simple to us as adults, fills her with unfiltered joy.

    Noe

    March 8, 2010 at 9:49 am

  4. Today I am thankful for…
    1) the sun (everything is better when its sunny after a long winter)
    2) The really good mocha I’m drinking right now
    3) A song on the radio on my drive in that really brightened my mood – now I just have to figure out what it was so I can get it for my iPod…

    Kelly

    March 8, 2010 at 10:04 am

  5. Morning today, brought, finally, a respite from a lurking Migraine. The weekend, warmed, with 40s on Saturday, Sneaking into the 50s Sunday, and teasing it’s way towards 60 today. Today I am thankful for:

    1) Warm air on the cheek, a light jacket, and the breath of spring in the air.

    2) Friends and Loves who softly abide and hold me gently when bright lights, glowing screens and loud noises assault me.

    3) Whimsical ideas which dance around the edge of my awareness. Tiny blue centaurs of imagination prowling the spreadsheets and XML documents of reality and doing laps in coffee mugs.

    zhaewry

    March 8, 2010 at 1:04 pm


Leave a Reply

