Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

March 22 Springish

with 7 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/left-hand

It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold:  when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.  ~Charles Dickens

Saturday was the first day of Spring.  I’m staring out the window at bright yellow daffodils dusted with .. snowflakes.

The muffled voice of the HVAC repairman is distracting my racing mind; I think he’s humming the theme from The Sting.   I left him there to work his magic, something about a cracked whumajungajiggy.  It’s okay, he has one in the truck (whew).

Today, I’m a whirl in life’s little detours but I’m thankful that I am enjoying the ride and for …

  1. Spring – even if she’s a little shy this year.
  2. Ronnie, our infinitely dependable and always happy HVAC guy.
  3. this week’s chance to soak up new ideas and meet some brilliant people who share my passion but with far more qualifications than I.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

March 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today I car-danced all the way to work, sometimes that happens, and I nearly lost track of where I was simply because everything was so very green. Among my (slightly out of tune singing) I realized I am thankful for:

    1) Little touches, notes, signs from people that they are thinking of me.
    2) The words “Hello gorgeous” no matter where they come from.
    3) Fresh made sushi and time to just talk, face to face, all electronics put away.

    Noe

    March 22, 2010 at 9:27 am

  2. Wow! This is my last week at my old job, then it’s into the great unknown! I’m getting excited 😀 Westward ho!

    1)A new place to live and the quashing of one of many fears.

    2)of early spring sunshine, giving my mood a proper backdrop. Rebirth and renewal a’happenin’.

    3)My old employer, for giving me a chance in a downed economy despite being a tree huggin’ Liberal.

    Ceri D

    March 22, 2010 at 9:55 am

  3. Today I am thankful for:

    1. The way my dog tucks his nose under my arm when he wants belly rubs.
    2. Being able to sleep without a thermal shirt.
    3. That March is still fending off April.

    Salome Strangelove

    March 22, 2010 at 10:41 am

  4. Today, I’m hoping things do come in threes, because if so, I can believe the following are behind me and be thankful that:

    1) I realized this morning that the USB charger I’d plugged my iPhone into last night (when it was at 7% charge) was not plugged into the PC, and that my iPhone hadn’t just died totally overnight (as I first thought when I tried to turn it on this AM/ ‘knowing’ it should be charged)

    2) The tire place did manage to find the 2 proper tires for my truck in the back of their shop, *after* putting my truck up on the lift, taking the old tires off the wheels, and then asking me if I was sure they’d actually managed to find the ‘now discontinued’ tires I’d specifically hunted down to match the pair my FiL had just put on the truck last fall before I bought it, and

    3) We managed to get the truck down off the lift witout dropping it, even after the lift broke when still about 5′ up, and that I only got a ‘partially drenched’ with hydraulic fluid while helping them swap the hose so we could get it down!

    It’s been a busy morning 🙂

    Sean McPherson

    March 22, 2010 at 10:42 am

  5. Today I am thankful for some of life’s small pleasures…

    1) This was one of those mornings where for no particular reason your first cup of coffee tastes amazing.
    2) The unexpected and well timed phone call from a friend who just wanted to say hi.
    3) Having a great parking spot open near my office.

    charlanna

    March 22, 2010 at 11:14 am

  6. Hard to pick three when there is a sea of things you are thankful for..
    1)Consistent meditation irrespective of everything..
    2)An excrutiating headache since this last night- it is giving me the opportunity to apply the skills I m learning through my meditation practice
    3)The big bowl of fruit I treated myself to-before leaving this morning 🙂

    AR

    March 24, 2010 at 12:14 pm

  7. This week, I am most thankful for

    1) A day off to putter even if it is a day late
    2) New friends that make me learn to laugh at things that I used to find an invasion of my space
    3) The fact that seasons arrive in fits and starts and don’t come all at once – it’s so much more interesting that way 🙂

    Bree Birke

    March 25, 2010 at 10:08 am


Leave a Reply

