Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

April 5 Eggs!

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/stray

I love eggs – no really, I truly love them. I’m not sure how I came to love eggs the way I do given the trouble they were in my youth.

When I was growing up the laying hens hated me so passionately it’s a miracle I made it out of the hen house on any given day with both of my eyes. The worst event was the day they actually seemed to cooperate in an all out attack – three held me down squawking and flapping wildly whilst the largest tried desperately to peck me blind. I escaped bloody and scarred with nary a fresh egg in hand to be met by the wrath of my Grandmother but was fortunately saved by my Grandfather’s stifled giggle and quick thinking reassignment to the garden to gather roots.

I know it’s not a lovely story but I do still love eggs and I’m not much of a carrot fan.

So today I’m still basking in a weekend almost wholly dedicated (even if in just my mind) to eggs and I am thankful …

  1. for weekend breakfasts of over easy and scrambled
  2. for lunch and dinner brimming with hard boiled and deviled
  3. for happy childhood memories of hunting, gathering and coloring.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

April 5, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My mind is doing that thing today where it has a constant buzz in the background and I am not sure what I should focus on first. Somewhere in the chaos I am still thankful for:

    1) Brunch full of family and laughter over old stories and several delicious flavors of pie.
    2) Fun movies that, despite the obvious plot, are still good enough to enjoy every sweet moment.
    3) Naps in the afternoon.

    Noe

    April 5, 2010 at 12:23 pm

  2. I’m thankful today that…

    A) Technology keeps moving forward; I’ve spent my entire life happily playing with ‘new geek toys’ and I sometimes (irrationally) worry about what would happen if innovation ‘stopped’!

    B) I had a pleasant afternoon with my parents and my sister-in-law’s parents at my brother’s house for Easter, and

    C) This spring thing seems to have finally made it here. I know it’s spring; I had to chase the first tick off my pants leg today! (Tradeoffs! *sigh*)

    Sean McPherson

    April 5, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  3. Clean water.

    Almost paid off front load washing machine.

    Nice quality freebie/promo pens.

    Norris Shepherd

    April 5, 2010 at 1:28 pm

  4. Eggs seem highly fitting in this season. Beyond happy bunnies and small children seeing the ones they hide, eggs are a near universal symbol of renewal and spring. As we mark the turn from the cold of winter towards the warmth of spring, and the eventual heat of summer, I am thankful for:

    1) A week of family centered holidays which center me each year.

    2) Sitting in a park with my laptop as spring flows around me and makes working more pleasant and less worklike.

    3) A partner who patiently avigates my ebbs and flows when the holidays and the chaos take me.

    zhaewry

    April 5, 2010 at 3:27 pm


Leave a Reply

