Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

May 3 Keep Calm

with 6 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/croma

From Wikipedia: Keep Calm and Carry On was a propaganda poster produced by the British government in 1939 during the beginning of World War II, but never used. It was rediscovered in 2000 and has been re-issued by a number of private sector companies, and used as the decorative theme for a range of other products.

The poster was initially produced by the Ministry of Information[1] in 1939 during the beginning of World War II, and was intended as a “last case scenario” to be used only should the Nazissucceed in invading Britain via Operation Sea Lion, in order to stiffen resolve. Two-and-a-half million copies were printed, although the poster was distributed only in limited numbers.[2] The designer of the poster is not known.

A wonderful sentiment that was shared with me by a friend over this past weekend in words and spirit right at the perfect time.

Today I am thankful for

  1. those little bits of calm and new sparks of light.
  2. hot coffee, pancakes and laughter on a Sunday morning.
  3. the roof over our heads keeping us dry (so far) and sheltered from this pounding rain.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

May 3, 2010 at 7:47 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh sweet irony. I bought a print of that on etsy last night to send to my sister for her new (post divorce) home in sunshine/lemon/delicious/bright yellow.

    It is indeed an excellent mantra and reminder.

    Yeay for 3 things (!!) and a thin strand of a psychic tie helping us all hold it together…

    Maigh

    May 3, 2010 at 7:52 am

  2. I used to have a necklace with this image on it, that was given to me by a dear, dear friend. Our relationship became toxic and we finally parted ways.

    Today I am grateful to have finally, after a year, begun the long process of accepting the good parts of that relationship and leaving the bad behind.

    Today I am also grateful that for better or worse the semester will be over in three short days.

    And I am grateful that my partner and I resolved a misunderstanding yesterday.

    . . . and I am also grateful that I am warm and dry and able to compute in this pouring rain.

    Muse Carmona

    May 3, 2010 at 8:05 am

  3. It’s damp and humid outside and in order to even post my thanks I have had to get here from my phone. However, I am very thankful:

    1) That I even have access to a phone, and technology, that will allow me to post.
    2) For a chance to try something new and the challenges it brings.
    3) A generous friend willing to give me some of her space to make my vision happen.

    Noe

    May 3, 2010 at 8:41 am

  4. That reminds me of a very nice time in my life when I was able to do extended research at the PRO in Kew. They had lots of these war posters on display there.

    Today’s thanks include:

    1. watching old, barely post-war British movies on a muggy and oppressive Sunday afternoon. “I Know Where I’m Going” features great turns by Pamela Brown and a very young Petula Clark. Mull’s pretend weather made mine look good by comparison, but I envied the scenery

    2. fitting into pants that used to be too tight, and being glad for every different sort of reason than I would have been even five years ago

    3. planning my “garden,” no longer measured in square feet, but in some patio pots for herbs — and the CSA that will provide the rest

    mscellenea

    May 3, 2010 at 2:22 pm

  5. Been a while since I posted, largely because tho I’ve been keeping on, I’m not sure I was doing the keeping calm as well as I might have been…

    That said, I’m grateful this week for:

    1) Doctors who keep me calm in my most frightened moments, who carry on (and on) to get me through this
    2) A husband who is practically this saying incarnate
    3) My kids, for whom I keep calm when all else is driving me towards the outer boundaries of my ability to keep control, for being a reason for me to continue to carry on when I may not have so much felt like I could

    Sera Evans

    May 3, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  6. Buried due to floods and catching up but this week I’m thankful that

    1) My parents are only sore/bruised/etc from an accident that totaled the car; very scary experience for everyone!

    2) Interfuse went off fairly well, even with all the rain and winds

    3) I’m not running the data center that had the outage that took out LL over the weekend 🙂

    Sean

    May 4, 2010 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

