Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

May 17 Mondaze

with 3 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/35237095937@N01

Yes, my guard stood hard when abstract threats
Too noble to neglect
Deceived me into thinking
I had something to protect
Good and bad, I define these terms
Quite clear, no doubt, somehow
Ah, but I was so much older then
I’m younger than that now

–  My Back Pages, Bob Dylan © 1964

When you are sick over the weekend, Monday looks more like a thief than a beggard. I stumbled into the early morning in a blurry haze trying desperately to hold together the handful of cogent thoughts I needed to get through the day.

Late in the afternoon someone asked me if Bob Dylan was a Beatle.  I replied no, and all I got back was a skeptical stare.  Fine, I said.  Wikipedia it. And before the last “‘a” syllable crossed my lips I felt sort of old and I could hear my father saying “look it up”.

Monday, you are a cruel mistress but I am no less thankful ..

  1. that I can laugh at myself and be happy for the laughter.
  2. that this plague is actually just a silly cold that will pass in a day or so.
  3. that I had enough gas in the tank to get to work and didn’t have to stop and be late.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

May 18, 2010 at 7:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today, I’m thankful that I

    1) Can regularly function on little to no sleep, as it means for some weird reason I’m biologically designed to be able to handle going from vacation to dealing with multiple crises and not really feel like it’s a tough change at all

    2) Have so many great friends online who share their highs and lows and constantly remind me that, really, I’m not alone out here, even if I work 20 hours in a small room in the basement where I have no windows or contact with anyone, and

    3) Remembered to keep my desk stocked with water bottles and munchies *and* have a great boss who’ll go snag me food on his way out and about so I don’t have to leave my desk when I’m working hot issues and would rather work than leave for sustenance!

    Sean

    May 18, 2010 at 7:55 am

  2. Today I’m feeling like keeping it simple, and I’m thankful for:

    1) The man who calls me wife
    2) The kids who call me mom
    3) The ability to do and be paid for work I find rewarding

    These three things are enough to make for a good life, that’s for sure.

    Sera Evans

    May 18, 2010 at 10:13 am

  3. Today, despite the warning in my throat, I am thankful:

    1) For those willing to do things I don’t want to (for a small fee).
    2) For rainy day naps with dreams.
    3) That summer creeps a little closer each day.

    Noe

    May 18, 2010 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

