Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

July 5 Freedoms

with 2 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/7886635@N06

Our greatest happiness does not depend on the condition of life in which chance has placed us, but is always the result of a good conscience, good health, occupation and freedom in all just pursuits.  – Thomas Jefferson

I watched hours upon hours of the History Channel’s “America The Story of Us” this weekend. I know I should have been more “productive” but I think I needed a little empty space – or maybe I’m just lazy.  Either way, thinking about the history of this country is heart warming and heart breaking. We are so far from perfect and I often wonder if we lose sight of the goal, but you only have to walk around another place in the world to realize how much we have to be thankful.

Today I am thankful for

  1. people who speak their minds when it’s quite likely they will be subject to criticism or worse.
  2. friends who support each other sincerely.
  3. the wealth of relevant history regarding democracy – the meaning, the cost, the rewards  – lest it get bandied about carelessly.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

July 5, 2010 at 8:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the Monday morning sun glitters through the trees outside my window I am thankful for:

    1) My family; though they often drive me crazy there is an overabundance of genuine laughter and love when we are all together; it is as if we were never apart.
    2) Celebrations of love and commitment; whatever they may be for those who wish to have and share them.
    3) Fireworks blooming across the sky in a display that still awes me as if I were a child.

    Noe

    July 5, 2010 at 9:41 am

  2. Today was tough.

    I’m thankful for

    1) Friends who support me even when I start to hate myself for repeating my hurts
    2) A family that, while we don’t get along much, cared enough to do right by Kozmo and put together a wonderful stone burial site as we’ve done in the past for all family pets
    3) My wife being an amazing woman who has handled her first loss of a pet with strength, grace and compassion, and who has helped me through it at the same time.

    SeanMcPherson Senior

    July 5, 2010 at 10:16 pm


Leave a Reply

