Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

July 26 A Slice of Peace

with 7 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/rusty-projector

I have a place in my mind that I escape to when I need some semblance of peace. It’s a place I go to find a center and a quiet calm when I can’t sleep or concentrate. I ran across this image the other day and it struck me how closely it resembled my imagined retreat. Now I want to visit, but perhaps that would spoil the illusion.

Today I am thankful for

  1. a tiny slice of peace amid the madness.
  2. more days with Bob and her antics.
  3. a wealth of friends who indulge my wild ideas over a few drinks.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

July 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the sun sets on this too warm Monday I am thankful for:

    1) That little beep on my phone that means someone has thought of me and sent me a message.
    2) My aunts who, with my mother, create a trio of humor when they are trying to organize together.
    3) The weightless feeling of cleaning out old and making space to breathe.

    Noe

    July 26, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  2. Serenity is the place, and It’s as vast as all your imagination 🙂

    Lap Liberty

    July 26, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  3. I’m thankful for

    1. Kind words
    2. Kind deeds
    3. Kind spirits

    Of which there have been many this last week.

    Radio Signals

    July 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  4. I am thankful that I now realize that if for long enough I’m ungrateful, time will make apparent I have no reason to be. 🙂

    Lap Liberty

    July 26, 2010 at 7:01 pm

  5. Just one thing today… I am thankful for the subtle ways my SL friends celebrate my birthday, which touch me as much as anything in my “other” life. I love you all!

    Sachiko Edelman

    July 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm

  6. My mantra in my happy place goes like…

    I am a rock.
    I am a rock sitting on the ground.
    I am a rock sitting on the ground with grass growing all around me.
    (you get the idea) … with the sound of the stream burbling merrily in the background
    …the whispering of leaves in the wind
    …and the sound of the lives of the creatures of the forests providing counterpoint.

    By the time I get through that, I’m usually pretty calm 🙂 It’s never the same thing twice I expect.

    Today, I’m thankful that

    1) my friends get to hear all these whacky things about me and don’t *seem* to think I’m the ‘dangerous’ kind of crazy
    2) I get to hear all these whacky things about my friends so I can know they’re not the dangerous kind of crazy (LOL)
    3) I have these friends who share their crazy with me!

    Sean

    July 27, 2010 at 7:52 am

  7. A few days late, as usual – I have a happy place this week but it isn’t physical. Rather it is a state; and it makes me think of times past that I know were similar to what is about to transpire. So in this light, I am thankful for

    1) the sense of anticipation – it’s delicious!
    2) the anticipated event – they usually more than live up to expectations
    3) the memories afterwards – often a bit wistful that things must end, yet filled with a warm glow

    Bree Birke

    July 28, 2010 at 8:36 am


Leave a Reply

