Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

August 17 Scale

with one comment

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/skiwalker79

I sat down twice to craft Three Thanks but I was trapped in that feeling of utter insignificance. I want to fix things I can’t fix and I am so stubborn that instead of accepting that and moving on to what I can do, I fixate almost to the point of obsession. (I said almost.) The problem is at that point everything stands still.

The challenge, it seems is a matter of scale and how it’s perceived. From one vantage, we are but a fleck in the vast expanse. How can anything we do matter? Looking through the other end, we are immersed in unending amounts of opportunity. How can anything we do not matter?

Yesterday I was looking through the wrong end of the telescope.

Today I am thankful for

  1. a gentle nudge to turn around the telescope.
  2. a night of peaceful dreams about the stars.
  3. the slight smell of Fall in the air (okay, that’s entirely my imagination but I’m thankful for it nonetheless).

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

August 17, 2010 at 8:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This week I am thankful for:

    1) Drivers who turn on their emergency blinkers in a downpour on the highway; sometimes it is only those two blinking lights from a stranger that help keep you on the road.
    2) Bits of simple beauty for the walls; filling my world with more art.
    3) A workplace full of laughter and stories.

    Noe

    August 17, 2010 at 10:44 am


Leave a Reply

