Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

September 20 Eloise

with 2 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/laserbub

Eloise 1914 -2010

Grandma taught me how to shoot a rifle, dress a deer, bait a fish hook, bake biscuits and cut my own switch. One day she casually saved me from a copperhead snake – with a rake. She was a woman of few words, so when she spoke it was wise to listen. She had little formal schooling but she could doctor just about any ailment or at least convince you it was nothing to worry about. She was frugal but generous, flexible but just a little stubborn.

At 95 her eyes were failing her, but she could still see things that other people couldn’t. She wrote me a letter the day she died; I guess she knew more than most as well.

Thank you, Grandma.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

September 20, 2010 at 8:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today, I’m thankful for…

    A) Weather patterns that are helping the hurricanes vear out to sea or at least ‘back down’ a bit before they hit land

    B) Ready access to clean and safe water (had a discussion this weekend with a friend from another country after watering my lawn that made me think about how easy it is t take it for granted)

    C) Animal rescue organizations who find amazing ways to care for animals that people otherwise have discarded like a consumable toy…

    Sean

    September 20, 2010 at 8:33 am

  2. Today I am endlessly thankful for:

    1) Sharing space and getting face time with friends this past weekend.
    2) The silly little things that make me happy like new couch pillows or jeans that fit perfectly.
    3) The very genuine people that I have let in my life and asked to share my world; nothing can replace them.

    Noe

    September 20, 2010 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

