Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

October 7 Small Pleasures

with 2 comments

My entire life I have been trained to work toward a goal. My life, my job, my every action, my every belief, my every day has been focused on being “successful”, delivering “the product”, getting across the “finish line” or even just getting through the day.

When you are keeping your “eyes on the prize” you miss the entire journey. You trample the spring flowers. You curse the rain. You feel guilty when you miss a deadline, but not a birthday. You work weekends and holidays. You eat dinner in front of a computer, lunch in conference rooms and breakfast from a bag in your car.

You fall blind to all that life has to offer – the small pleasures.

Today I am thankful

  1. for the day I finally started this blog.
  2. for the journey of recovering from being a task-master and becoming a journey-master.
  3. for the familiar sounds of home.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

October 7, 2010 at 9:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The next time you catch yourself eating in front of a computer:

    1) Shut it down
    2) Chop up a few apples and cube some cheese
    3) Open a bottle of wine
    4) Go outside
    5) Just enjoy for a bit, and any moment you think “I’ve got to do X” respond with “I’ll do that when I feel ready to.”

    I did that yesterday before I did my usual logon. (Okay, so the cheese and apple tray was half-off at Kroger) But sitting outside while three pairs of eyes watched me through the sliding glass door, and letting time slow down.

    Don’t jump the shark of your life. Surf that shark on the waves and enjoy the sun for a bit.

    -ls/cm

    Crap Mariner

    October 7, 2010 at 9:10 am

  2. October is truly a lovely month. For me there is always an endless list of things to be so very thankful for in my life:

    1) The smell of fresh soil and feel of it under my fingertips as I plant new life on my own.
    2) Small leaves diving in front of my car to remind me fall is in the air and on the breeze.
    3) Smiles, touches, encouragement, teasing and well wishes that brighten today from those who intersect my life in different ways.

    Noe

    October 7, 2010 at 11:40 am


Leave a Reply

