Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

October 18 Rituals

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/twohorses

This Starbucks ad has captured my imagination lately – personally and professionally. Most people are tied – knowingly or unknowingly – to daily rituals. We lose track of how much time we spend in a prescribed pattern of behavior – day in and day out – and we become quite attached to the predictability of that experience despite losing sight of the wonder of unpredictability. I love to design experiences, and I simultaneously love and hate daily rituals because while they are so embraced, they can blind us to the magic of the universe.

Today I am thankful

  1. for the peace of my daily rituals (and for a little break from them as well).
  2. for the chance to do what I truly love and share my insights and passions with others.
  3. for the people that come to listen – week after week – are kind to each other and share of themselves, make me laugh, and leave me feeling better than when I started.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

October 18, 2010 at 7:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today, I’m thankful that…

    1) I got all my chores done this weekend, even tho I really wanted to sit and basically stare at the walls

    2) Modern technology means I *don’t* have to slap my dirty clothes against rocks in a creek and then hang them on trees

    3) Wrinkle-free is slowly starting to actually mean that!

    Sean

    October 18, 2010 at 7:52 am

  2. very thankful for

    – pickled herring
    – sunday and monday night entertainment has returned.
    – body and mind’s ability to stay upright on ice skates (even after a 25 year absence of doing so)

    Norris Shepherd

    October 18, 2010 at 8:10 am

  3. truly thankful
    – for the last few blackberries from the garden that I didn’t expect anymore
    – for the bright sunlight that made the start of the day look truly amazing
    – for warm socks

    Sally

    October 18, 2010 at 8:36 am

  4. The impending extra long work day leaves me a little worn before things have really started but I am still thankful for:

    1) Surprise notes left for me in any form; even if the sentiment is somewhat routine the effort means so much.
    2) Fall football games in the crisp air with good friends near.
    3) The privilege of encouraging young cousins as they grow up and become whole people with talents and dreams.

    Noe

    October 18, 2010 at 9:19 am


Leave a Reply

