Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

November 8 Heroes

with 3 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/20406121@N04/4629927826

I was lucky when I was growing up – I had a lot of heroes. Not so much the superhero kind, but a healthy mix of family, teachers, coaches and mentors who took the time to share what they knew and eventually “save” me from whatever I’d gotten myself into after stubbornly ignoring them.

A hero to me then was someone that was generally around every day but stepped in at just the right minute to help – and that got me thinking about our world today.

Who are our children’s heroes?  Standards aside e.g. [insert list of pop culture names here] – what about Google? Apple? Facebook? Are they the new superheroes?

Today I am thankful for a few personal heroes –

  1. people that say thank you.
  2. the guy that broke out of his clique to help when I was trying to pry open a door with various extremities while muttering all sorts of .. well, let’s leave it at that.
  3. my enduring love – patient, kind and unmatched superhero powers.

How about you?

Written by Grace

November 8, 2010 at 7:50 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This morning, I’m thankful for:

    1) Having finished an estate auction this weekend that lets my wife’s family have a bit more closure on a recent loss

    2) Our friendly police station which is very close (which is a good thing since I interrupted the teardown of a stolen car on my way in to work this mnorning, so I got to watch a foot and vehicle pursuit)

    3) In-Car traffic systems that tell me when it’s a good idea to drop off at an exit and get food rather than sit in the car fuming for a half hour while they corral some escaped cows…

    Sean

    November 8, 2010 at 8:07 am

  2. It’s a brighter morning than it has been in months and today I am thankful:

    1) That I was able to see musical heroes of mine live and for the grin that was plastered to my face the entire time.
    2) There is beauty in hidden places of magic all around us – I know how to find a spot or two.
    3) For a little bit of steak followed by a little bit of chocolate.

    Noe

    November 8, 2010 at 8:30 am

  3. Looking out the window of my office, I’m thinking with gratitude about

    1) those people who love their jobs so much that their enthusiasm rubs off.

    2) Chim’s purring in my ear even when he’s being a bit of a nuisance

    3) the tree outside my office window, glowing golden in the sunshine

    Bree Birke

    November 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm


Leave a Reply

