Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

November 15 Being Thankful

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/mtsofan/4785273938

I know it sounds circular, or weird, or some other word I cannot put my finger on today  – but I woke up this morning completely grateful for feeling thankful – for learning how to be thankful (yes, it’s a learning process) and for the remarkable world shift that happens when you go from focusing on even the smallest amount of bad shit to the essence of the simplest gratitude.

It’s like there is this parallel ungrateful universe –  and even if you dip in a single toe it sucks you in and you have to work so hard to escape. Don’t try it – I see you wiggling that big toe – just hang here and say thanks.

Today I am thankful for

  1. a world in which I can sing – good, bad, or otherwise.
  2. a dream-filled night packed with reminders of how lucky I am.
  3. the luxury of a weekend of unmapped exploration, quiet mind time and slow cooked meals.

And you? For what are you thankful?

 

Written by Grace

November 15, 2010 at 8:19 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today, I’m feeling thankful that

    1) the guy who was talking on his cell phone, reading something on a notepad, *and* drinking coffee while driving the van behind me this AM managed to actually FINALLY find his brakes in *just* enough time that his coffee his his windshield but his van didn’t hit my vehicle,

    2) I woke up remembering that if the things I worry about are long-term issues and all my short-term needs are met, I’m in better shape than say 85% of the people on the planet, and

    3) there were strawberry poptarts in the office this morning for the first time in weeks 🙂

    Sean

    November 15, 2010 at 8:27 am

  2. this beautiful autumn Monday I’m thankful for
    – time, no matter how brief, spent with music and friends
    – piles of beautiful autumn leaves to mess around with
    – silly stuff, because silly is good for you

    Sally

    November 15, 2010 at 8:30 am

  3. Time seems to be shifting out of 2010 so very fast but when I stop and breathe I am thankful:

    1) For quiet moments alone with my creativity.
    2) The memories that lay sweet and protected inside my mind.
    3) That I can still be excited by the little things like a big breakfast on Sunday or whimsical stories.

    Noe

    November 15, 2010 at 8:43 am

  4. Today I am thankful for
    1. The feeling of achievement that the slightest bit of progress brings
    2. Friends who will let me play music with them
    3. Sunshine on a cold bright Autumn morning

    Richard Meiklejohn

    November 15, 2010 at 10:27 am


Leave a Reply

