Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

January 3 Welcome Uncertainty

with 5 comments


Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is  a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense. – Emerson

 

I can’t recall in my lifetime being so anxious to close the door on a year, and nail it shut. The year 2010 was a particular monster – cruel and cunning, heartless and unwavering. Good riddance, and if I have but one year like that in my life that is good news.

In contrast, 2011 while it hints at being a time of great uncertainty, is a welcome guest.

Today I am thankful for

  1. the end of a most dreadful year that while it raged, didn’t defeat us, but gave us pause and a rekindled spirit.
  2. all of the people who reached out and uprighted my boat when I was sure it was capsizing.
  3. time off to refresh and recharge, rethink and re-engage … or just sit around and watch the birds.

Happy New Year.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

January 3, 2011 at 7:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today, I’m thankful for

    1) Friends who have NYE parties so that regardless of how little I enjoy them, Christy gets to attend and I get reminded that I should go so she can have fun
    2) A few days of warm weather in winter; 70F NYE afternoons are great, for me!
    3) Barbershops, because I always forget to get a haircut when I’m working a lot

    Sean

    January 3, 2011 at 7:27 am

  2. Today I’m thankful for the fantastic musicians that I get to share time with that made last nights session so incredible, that the council have finally sent round the recycling trucks and for a sense of renewal and a chance to have another bite at things

    Neil Canham

    January 3, 2011 at 7:35 am

  3. very grateful for
    – a bright and crisp morning that seems to echo my mood
    – a deep breath of fresh air
    – a perfect latte

    Sally

    January 3, 2011 at 9:07 am

  4. this has been a most dreadful year, one that i am only to grateful to nail the door shut on, as well
    i am grateful for
    1. my daughter, without her, nothing else matters, really
    2. my cup of coffee in the morning
    3. all of my friends and family, both virtual and in the flesh, that reached out and lifted my spirit and held me in their thoughts and prayers

    Tittertat

    January 3, 2011 at 10:16 am

  5. I turned off both of my alarms three times each this morning before I could convince myself to break free of the warm cocoon. Even though it is a back to the grind Monday I am quite grateful:

    1) For the laughter of my family filling a room on New Year’s Day closed out with the sweet sound of my cousin showing off his musical talent.
    2) For the opportunity to give to those I love from small stores, my kitchen and always my heart.
    3) That I had a quiet New Year’s Eve filled with fresh fondue and sparkling cider.

    Noe

    January 3, 2011 at 12:49 pm


Leave a Reply

