Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

January 10 Oddities

with 7 comments

This is a lone Oriole that showed up to our feeder this weekend. I don’t think he’s supposed to be here in January – odd, that.

We awoke to an enchanting blanket of snow this morning – also very odd.  The local news is fixated on forecasts,  school closings and road conditions while the national news covers the tragic shooting in Arizona this weekend – an odd mix of politics and senseless human tragedy.

It takes but one small step from the day-to-day to realize our worlds – personal, local, global – are teetering on an odd edge.  Our global climate, our collective empathy, and a general shift of our major institutions all deserve a critical eye as we move through these uncertain yet exciting times.

A dispassionate perspective might yield that these may be mixed blessings – an opportunity for us to demand more clarity, to seek more information not less, and to rethink and reboot systems and institutions that are already outdated.

Today I am thankful for

  1. a snow day – a mixed blessing of down time and potentially dangerous conditions.
  2. a weekend filled with wildlife.
  3. a warm house, a full fridge and a good fire.

For what are you thankful?

 

Written by Grace

January 10, 2011 at 9:47 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In my part of the world it is yet only cold but they say a messy storm is on its way. Anticipation runs high around the building and I am thankful:

    1) That I was greeted with humor and laughter when I arrived at work today.
    2) For quiet days at work to focus on what needs to be done.
    3) Someone is still making movies that require I think and that enchant by delving into the psychological madness, and loveliness, that can fill the human mind. We are terrible beautiful creatures.

    Noe

    January 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

  2. Today, I’m thankful for:

    A) my small city’s road crew that deals with snow and ice pretty well

    B) the fact days are lengthening a bit and I can start to see the sun every few days outside of work hours

    C) time online listening to great music in SL and thru shoutcast streaming; nothing recharges me like that!

    Sean

    January 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

  3. a weird but wondrous morning and I’m truly grateful for
    – all the good people I know and those I don’t
    – friend who help make sense of the world
    – hope

    Sally

    January 10, 2011 at 9:52 am

  4. Today I’m thankful for:

    1. The astonishing words, wisdom and wonder that the internet delivers right to my desk
    2. My daughters growing independence and the bittersweet proud melancholy that brings
    3. Food and the strange realisation that I really enjoy eating.

    Neil Canham

    January 10, 2011 at 9:54 am

  5. Today, I am thankful for:

    – The miracle of ones and zeroes flying over wires that connects me to those I care about.
    – My senior cat feeling lively enough in her new meds to climb to the back of a favorite chair.
    – Friends who show me they care in so many little ways.

    Feline

    January 10, 2011 at 10:23 am

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Grace McDunnough, Noelani Lightfoot. Noelani Lightfoot said: It's a Monday, have you taken a moment to remember the good things? RT @GraceMcDunnough January 10 Oddities http://bit.ly/e1ielz #3thanks […]

  7. 1. Power, which I was (stupidly?) more worried about losing than my ability to leave my house,
    2. Improving health, each day this year has been better than the corresponding day last year,
    3. Grace, which/who reminds me to be grateful each week, whether I post or not. Thanks girlie.

    Sera Evans

    January 10, 2011 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

