Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

January 17 Life Is Good

with 7 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/fornal/420469204

It’s odd to look out the window here and still see snow – yes, snow – on the ground after a week. And, it’s interesting to me how the weather can have such a profound effect on not just our physical space but on our psyche. The day just feels different when you are looking out the same windows but seeing different things, when the cold air stings your lips and the sky fills your eyes with the same, but different, light. For me, it makes me feel life differently.

And life is good, indeed.

Today I am thankful for

  1. a break in the (unsafe part of ) the snow  (even though I loved the feel of it, our fair city was undeniably ill-prepared)
  2. afternoons that could be spent just watching football, or not.
  3. frozen fruit – truly, there is nothing better than a frozen fruit smoothie when the grover is completely out of fresh produce.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

January 17, 2011 at 10:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s raining outside and I’m grateful
    – for a warm and comfy home
    – a weekend spent exploring in lovely company
    – the smell of bread, cake and cookies baking in the oven

    Sally

    January 17, 2011 at 10:48 am

  2. This has been a very frustrating morning and of course, this makes it hard to feel thankful. Taking a step back and *seeing* that I’m in a whiny mood suddenly makes it easier to see the things I am thankful for.

    Today, I’m thankful that:

    1) I get to do a job I really do like, even on days when I’m stunned by what some coworkers do

    2) My wife gets a day off work (her job requires her to be in the office on days like Christmas Eve, Thanksgiving AM, etc) and I was able to let her sleep in today

    3) Penguin mints, because I can tell the next 12 work days are gonna require a pile of them!

    Sean

    January 17, 2011 at 10:56 am

  3. It is a Monday where I don’t have to be anywhere or do anything at all. In light of that I am thankful for:

    1) The time to kick around in whatever form I like, in whatever way I choose.
    2) Luxuries we take for granted like fresh water from the tap for hot tea or long baths on a cold night.
    3) Those who make me laugh, make me wonder, tap into my imagination and get me to daydream.

    Noe

    January 17, 2011 at 10:59 am

  4. – Dear people who share truths with me, even when it’s uncomfortable.

    – Being woken up by my daughters on a quiet morning.

    – Reflecting on the value of what I *have,* not what I *want.*

    charlanna

    January 17, 2011 at 11:12 am

  5. On this particular Monday, I am thankful for

    * The fact that I can afford more than one pc, so I’m not dead in the water when it comes to making the connections that I’ve grown to rely on.

    * People who give me warm fuzzies – all the time!

    * The colour blue.

    Bree Birke

    January 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  6. It is a rainy day here, and the weather radio has sounded tornado alerts twice. So today I am thankful for:

    – A rare day when I have no obligations but to cuddle my cats and listen to the rain.

    – Friends who steadfastly stand by my side when I am afraid of the dark.

    – Home, and finding my way back to it.

    Feline

    January 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  7. * Laura
    * Jenni
    * Christine

    No explanation offered or required. To these three ladies I am eternally thankful.

    Paddy Wright

    January 17, 2011 at 2:55 pm


Leave a Reply

