Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

June 14 Business Travel

with 4 comments

cc image courtesy flickr.com/photos/mightymoss/3098467059

The man in the seat in front of me took a short break from his thrashing about and leaned forward, gaining sizable momentum, and slammed his seat back as far as it would go, as quickly as it would get there. I had just enough coffee left in my system to save my laptop from getting crushed between the tray table and the fasten your seatbelt placard.

My luxury solitary confinement wedged between the window and my sizable neighbor was now reduced to 5 hours “in the hole” so I turned my attention away from email and to being thankful. Just as I was able to get the image loaded for this post, the Gogo inflight wireless access flickered. I reconnected, it flickered again, and it disconnected.  Reconnect. Flicker. Disconnect. … Reconnect.

Be thankful.

The man in front starts to thrash again, now so violently that it disturbs the sleeping giant next to me, who starts to thrash in kind – as if they were in some sleep dance – a slumbering samba, a forty wink two-step. Up and back, to and fro they went and the aircraft frame and seats beneath us creaked and moaned.

I stared at the empty browser. Wireless is down again. Only four more hours of flight time.

Be thankful.

I closed up the laptop, stowed the tray table and leaned forward to retrieve something to read from my bag, lurking dangerously below the thrashing man in front’s seat. I waited for a pause between turns and swapped the laptop for my reader.

When I tried to sit back up, something kept me pinned in the “grab your ankles and say your peace” position. The sleeping giant’s arm, nearly the size of a redwood, had found its way into the tiny space I had left. The dance steps of the man in front now pushed the tray table against my head – over and over again. Before succumbing to a concussion, I summon my best “box out” elbow move which convinces the sleeping dancer to retract a limb just far enough for me to squeeze back into the box labeled 45A.

The book I selected was just boring enough; I slipped into an accidental sleep. My body learned the dance moves and fell into step, the engines droned just enough – I pulled the white noise sheet over my head and fell into a deep sleep.

Then a loud buzzing, crackling, undecipherable noises over the Public Address system “Pardon me folks, this is ____. I just wanted you to know that we are half way there!”.

Be thankful.

We arrived safely. The destination is beautiful, and the weather could not be better. The first round of meetings went well, and dinner was lovely.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

June 14, 2011 at 8:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this morning i woke up to a beautiful blue sky, and that in itself is truly enough to make me feel thankful today. but I’ll add
    – last night’s amazingly beautiful moon, which just took my breath away
    – music shared with friends
    – tomatoes

    Sally

    June 14, 2011 at 8:25 am

  2. Today I’m thankful for:

    1) Hardworking co-workers (believe it or not, this is possible)
    2) Portable technology that lets me keep hundreds of technical manuals on my person w/o carrying hundreds of pounds of paper!
    3) Penguin Mints because really, who doesn’t like a little minty burst of caffeine from time to time? 😀

    Sean

    June 14, 2011 at 9:37 am

  3. Despite the fact that the needle for yesterday’s shot was unnecessarily large (if you ask me) I am quite thankful today:

    1) that I love in a country where I can get the vaccines I might need to travel easily and efficiently.
    2) for time just for me, either given by someone else or given to myself; these things are soul soothing.
    3) for memories tied to scent and how I have been teased by such of late.

    Noe

    June 14, 2011 at 10:40 am

  4. Today isn’t Tuesday any more, but I’m even more thankful than I was then! Why? I’m thankful …

    1) that I waited until today, because today was my lucky day!
    2) to the seagull that splatted on me today, which proved to me that it’s true that kind of event brings luck!
    3) and the weather that we’ve had the past few days – it could be so much worse!

    Bree Birke

    June 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm


Leave a Reply

