Three Thanks A Week

Share your gratitude, once a week in three easy bites

July 11th Gardens and Gardeners

with 3 comments

Each second we live is a new and unique moment of the universe, a moment that will never be again. And what do we teach our children?

We teach them that two and two make four, and that Paris is the capital of France. When will we also teach them what they are?

We should say to each of them: Do you know what you are? You are a marvel. You are unique. In all the years that have passed, there has never been another child like you. Your legs, your arms, your clever fingers, the way you move. You may become a Shakespeare, a Michelangelo, a Beethoven. You have the capacity for anything. Yes, you are a marvel. And when you grow up, can you then harm another who is, like you, a marvel?

You must work, we must all work, to make the world worthy of its children.  — Pablo Picaso

I am off to marvel at the world under the guise of work. It is a precious gift, and I pray I unwrap it like a child at Christmas.

Today I am thankful for

  1. the gift of gardens and gardeners
  2. rosewood, spruce and maple – for catgut and steel – for harmonies and melodies.
  3. long soft grass and warm summer nights.

For what are you thankful?

Written by Grace

July 11, 2011 at 8:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This bright, summer, Monday morning I am thankful for

    1) rich dreams so vivid I can feel each drop of rain on my skin.
    2) a reminder of how small both I and my problems really are compared to the world.
    3) that I have been bitten by the only bug I ever hoped to be bitten by and I have big plans for it.

    Noe

    July 11, 2011 at 8:09 am

  2. Today, I’m thankful for:

    1) Air conditioning: even tho I do have to work outside for parts of the day, it’s great to get relief from the 110F heat index conditions and walk into a 70F low humidity environment and just get a second wind. I grew up w/o much HVAC, so it’s still a wonderful convenience item for me!

    2) Access to libraries, both physical and virtual. I’m constantly using some form of stored knowledge, and I simply can’t imagine a world where i don’t have access to billions of pages of information.

    3) Friends who remind me to actually live a bit of life now and not spend so much time worrying about the future that I never have one 🙂 Yes, I’m buying the damned car, slightly impractical as it may be!

    Sean

    July 11, 2011 at 9:07 am

  3. it’s another hot day, but i can only be happy about it because the sun is bringing so many riches to my life
    – the early light in the morning that makes me thankful to be alive
    – the fruit from the garden that made up my breakfast
    – the fact that i will enjoy another glorious sunset this evening.

    Sally

    July 11, 2011 at 10:03 am


Leave a Reply

